Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit- Maggot Moon

Maggot Moon

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

When his best friend Hector is suddenly taken away, Standish Treadwell realises that it is up to him, his grandfather and a small band of rebels to confront and defeat the ever-present oppressive forces of The Motherland.

Thoughts:

I’m pretty sure that I’d heard of this book before Beth decided to pick it as part of our challenge. I mean Maggot Moon is a memorable title, you’d have to admit! I wasn’t sure what I was going into though when I picked up this story. I thought it was highly engaging and very easy to read. Maggot Moon has such short chapters its easy to make your way through and I believe would encourage some more reluctant readers!

Maggot Moon is a dystopian tale which follows a dyslexic protagonist Standish. Standish lives in an alternate univeerse where the Motherland has taken control of England. In this reality, surveillance and capital punishment are totally normal. It’s a horrible existence for everyone in society. Standish is singled out from his peers because of his dyslexia, vivid imagination and his one blue and one brown eye. It makes him a target for bullies and for the awful society in which he lives in. Standish lives with his grandfather as his family has been taken by the Motherland. However, there is a secret hidden below Standish’s house which could destroy the Motherland.

I loved the short chapters in this book, because they kept me utterly gripped. I went into this book thinking that it might be suitable for younger children but I don’t think it is. There are some incredibly violent moments. Maggot Moon is a well written book which I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend. It’s about friendship, loyalty and being different to the rest.

For Beth’s wonderful review, check out her blog HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

Next up in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (August):
Looking for JJ- Anne Cassidy

2 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit- Maggot Moon

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

