The BFG- A film review

As several might know I am a HUGE Roald Dahl fan. I’ve used his books in the classroom. I devoured them as a child. I’ve watched all of the adaptations. When I heard that they were remaking The B.F.G I was a little worried. This book is one of my favourites. I worried that it would be ruined. Whilst I don’t think it’s a flawless film, I was pleasantly surprised.

Things I liked:

  • Mark Rylance was a fabulous BFG. He was endearing, funny and true to the character in the book.
  • Ruby Barnhill was a fantastic Sophie.
  • The wonderful BFG-isms were present.
  • Fantastic imagery.
  • Some scenes (namely the whizzpopper scenes, especially the one at the palace) were done so well.

Things I didn’t like:

  • Sophie was a little bit too fiesty in places.
  • Added extras. I understand it’s for the movie ‘experience’ but I didn’t think the inclusion of another child added much to the story. I know it’s going to confuse my class who are so familiar with the book.
  • The giants weren’t nearly scary enough. Quentin Blake’s illustrations terrified me as a child! Even in the 1989 cartoon version they were scarier.

Would I recommend it?:
Despite my reservations and little niggles- yes!

9 thoughts on “The BFG- A film review

  1. I saw this last weekend and have to admit, I was disappointed. The BFG is my favourite Dahl and I completely agree, Mark Rylance was superb! The cinematography of the film was sumptuous but I felt it was at the expense of the magic – I didn’t really get Sophie (she was a bit precocious!) and the giants weren’t very scary. Like you, I was terrified of the cartoon! I’m debating doing my own review but I like what you’ve done so might give it a whirl myself – would like to skim through the book again though!

  2. I am so glad to see your positive review. I have the exact same reservations. I’m always so nervous the movie is going to change my memories of the book.

  3. I am so excited to watch this! The BFG was my favourite Dahl book, and there was an animated/storytelling version that I had on VHS as a kid, and I used to watch it ALL the time. I do think that the giant looks too, well, cute, haha 😄 And I’m grateful for the heads-up about the addition of an extra kid. They always change things from book to movie, and sometimes it doesn’t need to be changed. I’m glad you liked this one overall, though, Chrissi!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

