Cuckoo

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Little, Brown

Previously reviewed by the same author:

Synopsis:

He’s a household name . . . without a home

Jake is an actor, a household name thanks to his role on the UK’s most popular soap. But his character went upstairs to his bedroom six months ago and never came down again, and now Jake is facing an uncertain future. Add to that his dad’s anger issues, the family’s precarious finances and the demands of a severely autistic brother; Jake’s home feels like a powder keg waiting to explode. It’s easier to spend nights on friends’ sofas and futons, but what happens when you feel like a cuckoo in every nest?

Thoughts:

I have come to expect that Keren David’s books have much deeper subject matter than you might expect. Cuckoo is no exception. It involves family drama, homelessness and a character with severe autism. I think this book is going to divide its readers as it is quite different in narration. I think you’re either going to get on with it or not. I did read this book until the end, but the narration does take a while to get used to.

Cuckoo centres around sixteen-year-old Jake who has been on a popular TV soap for quite some time. When Jake was no longer in the script he began to feel very uneasy. The story follows transcripts of Jake’s YouTube account. He sets it up in order to film dramatised accounts of something that happened in Jake’s past which led to the soap opera being cancelled. From the beginning, we just know that Jake had done something.

I think what gives this book some extra intrigue is that Jake is such an unreliable narrator. I wasn’t sure whether to trust in him or not. The comments following the transcript of the video also add to the unreliable narration. Who is the reader supposed to believe? The people that are portrayed in the videos also comment on the YouTube comments. They’re determined to defend themselves, it confused me. I wanted to know what was going on and who was telling the truth. I did enjoy the transcripts, but I feel it would have been good to have different forms of narration in-between.

This is another book where it would ruin it to give too much away about the plot. It may not be for everyone, but I think it’s worth giving it a go to see if it’ll work for you.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

It wasn’t what I expected but it was enjoyable!

4 thoughts on “Cuckoo

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

