Cracked Up To Be

Cracked Up to Be

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
All The Rage

Synopsis:

When “Perfect” Parker Fadley starts drinking at school and failing her classes, all of St. Peter’s High goes on alert. How has the cheerleading captain, girlfriend of the most popular guy in school, consummate teacher’s pet, and future valedictorian fallen so far from grace?

Parker doesn’t want to talk about it. She’d just like to be left alone, to disappear, to be ignored. But her parents have placed her on suicide watch and her conselors are demanding the truth. Worse, there’s a nice guy falling in love with her and he’s making her feel things again when she’d really rather not be feeling anything at all.

Nobody would have guessed she’d turn out like this. But nobody knows the truth.

Something horrible has happened, and it just might be her fault.

Thoughts:

Courtney Summers had been on my radar for a while. I read All The Rage earlier this year and decided immediately that I needed to check out more of her writing. So I started at the very beginning with Courtney’s debut novel Cracked Up To Be. As I expected, this book was intense. There’s something about Courtney’s writing style that immediately pulls me in!

Cracked Up To Be revolves around Parker who has massively changed due to something that has happened. Parker used to be the cheerleading captain, she used to be popular, she used to work hard for her grades. Yet something has happened to her which completely changes her personality and the way she portrays herself to others. Parker no longer hangs around with the popular kids, she drinks heavily, she swears, she couldn’t care less about school. Parker’s parents have put her on suicide watch and they’re terrified she’s going to go down the wrong path. Parker, we know, is obviously hiding something…

I think Parker is going to be a character that you either love or hate. I really liked her. I wanted to know what had happened to her to change her in such a way. Courtney Summers has created a character that’s so flawed, but one that you still are curious enough about to wonder what had happened to her. I also really enjoyed how we, as a reader, got to see flashbacks of how Parker used to be. I really thought that Courtney Summers portrayed how fragile Parker always was.

I thought Cracked Up To Be was a fast and engaging read at just over 200 pages long. I can’t believe that this was Courtney’s debut novel, but to me, this book clearly shows why she’s as popular writer as she is!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

You may not like the main character in this debut, but her story is well worth reading!

9 thoughts on “Cracked Up To Be

  1. I remember reading this book many years ago and I know I really liked it, although now I can’t remember anything about the plot 😦 Great review!

  2. I really need to do a Courtney Summers reread because I LOVED this book and Some Girls Are. I hope you read that one too because the characters in there are just as harsh. That’s my fave part about Ms. Summers writing: the characters aren’t going to be who you want them to be. They’re not the warm and fuzzy kind, they have sharp angles and twisty secrets.

  3. I have never heard about the book or the author but this sounds really good. Good to hear that it had likeable characters. I also like good, fast, engaging read.I will look out for the book.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

