Top Ten Books Set In The U.K.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s list  I have thought about my favourite books set in the U.K. Some of these books have featured on Top Ten lists before of mine, but I just can’t help myself.

In no particular order (book images go to Goodreads…)

Harry Potter- J.K Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)

This book really doesn’t need an introduction or any sort of explanation does it? I absolutely loved this series and I’m so proud that it’s set in England!

Code Name Verity- Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity, #1)

I love this book. It’s set in England in 1941. Such a touching story.

Me Before You- Jojo Moyes

Me Before You (Me Before You, #1)

One of my all time favourites. This hasn’t been on my blog at all before! I lie. I lie.

Dead Jealous- Sharon Jones

Dead Jealous (Poppy Sinclair, #1)

This wonderful book is a mix of YA/mystery and paranormal. I loved reading it and the next book is awesome too.

Golden Boy-Abigail Tarttelin

Golden Boy

Golden Boy is a simply beautiful, important, powerful book.

Little Women- Louisa May Alcott

Little Women (Little Women, #1)

I know that this book has multiple settings but some of it does take place in Europe. This is one of my favourite classics.

The Other Boleyn Girl- Philippa Gregory

The Other Boleyn Girl (The Tudor Court, #3)

The Other Me- Saskia Sarginson

The Other Me

Part of this book is set in London. I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did, but I thought it was wonderful!

I Let You Go- Clare Mackintosh

I Let You Go

This thriller surprised me. It was another one where my expectations were completed exceeded.

A Monster Calls- Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls

Patrick Ness is a genius. I loved this book even if it broke me a little bit.

What did you pick for your Top Ten post this week? Feel free to leave a link to your posts and I’ll stop by!

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Set In The U.K.

  1. I’m really looking forward to reading Golden Boy, and I love A Monster Calls. But I have to gently correct you–Louisa May Alcott is an American author, and Little Women is set in the state of Massachusetts, where she grew up. Amy does tour Europe, but the background of the book is the US Civil War.

  2. I let you Go and The Monster Calls have some really good reviews. I have both books on my wishlist. I like the cover of The Other Me. Great picks. I did beach settings for my TTT this week.

  3. Great list! Little Women is one of my all time favorites! And of course Harry Potter. And Me Before You.
    I have When A Monster Calls ready to read, but to be honest I’m a bit scared of it too… 🙂

  4. I’ve owned a copy of Little Women for years but I just haven’t gotten around to reading it quite yet. One of my professors has basically dedicated her life to researching and studying it, so if that’s not motivation to read it then I don’t know what is! Great list! 🙂

  5. The only book I’ve read in the list is Harry Potter. I hope to read Me Before You soon. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Also, Code Name Verity sounds like an awesome book. Are there only two books in the series?

    • Me Before You is such a favourite of mine. I adore that story. Yes, as far as I know there’s only Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire. I think they’re companion novels as well? Not totally sure.

  6. I’m sad to say that I haven’t read a single book in this weeks list. For some reason, despite the fact I live in the UK I don’t usually read UK based books. Code Name Verity and A Monster Calls are two books that I do plan on reading in the near future though.

  7. Dead Jealous looks really good, that one’s new to me but I think I’m going to add it! Love that cover art. I’ve been reading more thrillers lately and after reading the blurb it sounds fantastic.

  8. I still *need* to read “Me Before You” because I’d really like to see the film when it comes to DVD. I know it won’t be a “me” story (read; spoiler girl!), but nonetheless, because of the cast, I’d like to see it. And since I’ve made it an unspoken “rule” to read the book first, that’s my goal. 😉

    Thanks, as always, for the Finding Wonderland visit.

  9. Totally agree about Patrick Ness- such a genius!! I love the way you did your list too, I never realized that some of these were set in the UK! I really want to read Golden Boy, Me Before You,Code Name Verity, and The Other Me (and that is kind of because of the cover, but that’s okay bwhaha)

  10. Code Name Verity!!! Love that one, along with Me Before You. I Let You Go was also a surprise (a good one). I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did. And yes, Patrick Ness is a genius. But I did love The Knife of Never Letting Go much more than A Monster Calls.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

