One Tiny Lie (Ten Tiny Breaths #2)

One Tiny Lie (Ten Tiny Breaths, #2)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Ten Tiny Breaths

Synopsis:

Livie has always been the stable one of the two Cleary sisters, handling her parents’ tragic death and Kacey’s self-destructive phase with strength and maturity. But underneath that exterior is a little girl hanging onto the last words her father ever spoke to her. “Make me proud,” he had said. She promised she would…and she’s done her best over the past seven years with every choice, with every word, with every action.

Livie walks into Princeton with a solid plan, and she’s dead set on delivering on it: Rock her classes, set herself up for medical school, and meet a good, respectable guy that she’s going to someday marry. What isn’t part of her plan are Jell-O shots, a lovable, party animal roommate she can’t say ‘no’ to, and Ashton, the gorgeous captain of the men’s rowing team. Definitely him. He’s an arrogant ass who makes Livie’s usually non-existent temper flare and everything she doesn’t want in a guy. Worse, he’s best friends and roommates with Connor, who happens to fits Livie’s criteria perfectly. So why does she keep thinking about Ashton?

As Livie finds herself facing mediocre grades, career aspirations she no longer thinks she can handle, and feelings for Ashton that she shouldn’t have, she’s forced to let go of her last promise to her father and, with it, the only identity that she knows.

Thoughts:

I had such mixed feelings about Ten Tiny Breaths. I adored it and strongly disliked the ending at the same time. Yet, something made me want to carry on the series! I read One Tiny Lie expecting not to like it, but I did. Sure, it had some moments which made me roll my eyes a little, but on the whole, I thought it was a highly enjoyable reading experience and I’m glad that I carried on!

One Tiny Lie follows Livie, Kacey’s sister from the previous book. Livie goes tp Princeton following the path she believes her father would’ve wanted for her. Kacey is trying to encourage her sister to live a little and enjoy herself. Livie has always been a straight A student and never stray from the path that she believes she should be following. Kacey encourages Livie to drink one night and make the most of her college experience. Livie finds a group of friends who encourage her to be more outgoing. Livie has dealt with so much heartbreak, it’s nice to see her unwind a little. Livie parties with her roomates and then there’s the boys…Ashton and Connor. Ashton is the guy she shouldn’t be with, but wants to be. Connor is the guy that her parents would approve of and expect her to be with.

This story is full of angst, but I loved it nonetheless. I was impressed with how well K.A. Tucker portrayed Livie’s feelings of being trapped and how she felt pressure to be someone she wasn’t deep down. I loved the interactions with her therapist and her sister. I thought the chemistry between Livie and Ashton was incredibly well written. At first, I thought Ashton was going to be a ‘typical’ arrogant character, but he has much more depth to him than first meets the eye and I always enjoy that. I enjoyed watching his story unfolding and learning more about him as a character.

I am intrigued to see where the rest of the series goes and will certainly be starting the next book with an open mind.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book! Well worth reading if you like New Adult.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

