Time To Say Goodbye

Time to Say Goodbye

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

HOW DO YOU LEAVE THE PERSON YOU LOVE THE MOST?

Will Curtis’s six-year-old daughter, Ella, knows her father will never leave her. After all, he promised her so when her mother died. And he’s going to do everything he can to keep his word.

What Will doesn’t know is that the promise he made to his little girl might be harder to keep than he imagined. When he’s faced with an impossible decision, Will finds that the most obvious choice might not be the right one.

But the future is full of unexpected surprises. And father and daughter are about to embark on an unforgettable journey together . . .

Thoughts:

I heard about this book through the blogosphere (where I get the best recommendations from to be honest!) and thought it sounded like something I’d really enjoy. I do enjoy to read a touching, heart-warming book and Time To Say Goodbye really felt like a book that would fit with that! I thought the story was beautiful, heart-warming but so sad at the same time. It really makes you think about afterlife and what might happen when we lose someone.

This book centres around Will and his daughter Ella. Ella’s mother had died after childbirth and her father promised Ella he would always be there for her. The story opens with Will dying in a road accident. We read about Will’s spirit watching the aftermath of the accident and begging the paramedics to save his life. His spirit does not want to leave Ella. Will’s spirit guide tells him that he can have some time with his family, but he will have to decide whether he passes over or stays with Ella…both have their positive and negative points and Will has to make a very difficult choice.

I really enjoyed reading a book from a male perspective. I absolutely adored Will’s relationship with his little girl. It was so heart-warming. I also enjoyed reading about the different relationships with family members. It was very moving.

S.D Robertson’s writing style is incredibly easy to read. I felt pulled in from the beginning and the story was well paced. This book becomes particularly powerful towards the end of the story. I found it hard to put down as I wanted to see how things were going to play out. It is an incredibly dramatic read, packed full of action and heartbreak. I was impressed with this debut novel.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A beautiful debut!

2 thoughts on “Time To Say Goodbye

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

