Beautiful Broken Things

Beautiful Broken Things

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

I was brave
She was reckless
We were trouble

Best friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realises, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Thoughts:

I was really intrigued when I started to see this book around the blogosphere. After reading the synopsis I wanted to get to the book ASAP and I’m so pleased I finally did. I raced through this book, eager to find out what was going to happen to the characters. It’s a wonderful book about friendship. I found it entirely relatable.

Beautiful Broken Things centres around Caddy and Rosie who have been best friends for years despite attending different schools. Suzanne comes along and begins to become closer to Rosie. Caddy is immediately jealous. Suzanne is interesting, outgoing and beautiful. Caddy later finds out something about Suzanne’s life which makes Caddy look at her in a completely different light. Caddy begins to become closer to Suzanne who makes her feel less ‘boring’ than she did before. Caddy starts to take risks and as a reader we begin to see Caddy change.

Caddy is an interesting character. I really wanted to like her, but if I’m entirely honest, she grated on me after a while. Caddy appears to have an easy life attending a good, private school. Her parents care for her, she has great friends but still she’s not content with her life. She wants something significant to happen to her because she feels she’s not really being. That’s relatable, but for some reason her attitude frustrated me. So many people go through the same struggles and have a worse home life but she came across as very woe-is-me. I really liked Rosie. She was fiesty. I thought Suzanne was a fascinating character. I wanted to know more about her from the start. It’s clear that she’s struggling with some mental health issues. I wonder if I would have appreciated this book even more if it was written from Suzanne’s point of view.

Beautiful Broken Things can be intense to read at times. Female friendships can be so intense at times and coupled with Suzanne’s struggles, it doesn’t make for light reading. However, the writing style is incredibly easy to read and as I mentioned, it didn’t take me long to tear through the book.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A well-written story of friendship. Full of drama!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Broken Things

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

