A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Building Relationships

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week in teaching has been a very mixed bag. I’ve had some lovely moments and some not so lovely moments. I feel like I’m starting to build relationships with my class. There’s one boy in my class who had a challenging year last year and I was warned that he would be a struggle. I kept that in my mind, but I saw the new school year as a fresh year and a new start. He’s been excellent so far. Sure, I can see the potential to be a bit of a monkey, but in the main part he’s trying hard, smiling lots and has been a pleasure to teach.

It made me think about how so many people (adults as well) can be affected by a label and if no-one gives them a chance (always exceptions to the rule with some individuals) then they can become their label. I feel like if I had labelled this boy with the ‘naughty no-hoper’ label he came into the class with then his experience in my class could have been very different.

That’s my thought for the week with regards to teaching. I’m hoping for a positive week ahead!

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Building Relationships

  1. I completely agree about labels. I feel labels definitely can change your perception of a person, whether it is in regards to race, socioeconomic status, behavior, appearance, etc. I try to speak with intention and use labels as infrequently as possible, or only in a positive context.

  2. As a primary teacher myself, I know where you are coming from. I find that I try to start each day fresh. I tell the students that too. We all make mistakes but it is a new day. Labels are good in some ways to instruct you on how to plan and strategies that have worked in the past but as we all know people change year to year and even day to day. Congrats on being back to school 🙂

  3. It is wonderful of you to give every child an equal chance. This one child who had a bad year last year could have been dealing with a lot in his home life. You never can tell nowadays. So glad that this child is doing good.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

