Little Girl Gone

Little Girl Gone

How did I get it?:
It was a gift!

Synopsis:

A baby goes missing. But does her mother want her back?

When Estelle’s baby daughter is taken from her cot, she doesn’t report her missing. Days later, Estelle is found in a wrecked car, with a wound to her head and no memory.

Estelle knows she holds the key to what happened that night – but what she doesn’t know is whether she was responsible…

Thoughts:

I’m a little bit fed up of every psychological thriller being compared to Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train. It’s boring and uninspired. That aside, I did really like the sound of Little Girl Gone, so I found some time to get stuck into the book. I don’t think it’s the best psychological thriller I’ve read but it was definitely well considered and had an interesting subject matter.

Little Girl Gone starts with Estelle Paradise waking up one morning and finding that her little baby Mia has disappeared from her cot. What’s strange is that her nappies, clothes, bottles etc. have also disappeared. Mia goes to the police station but doesn’t actually end up reporting her daughter missing. We later read of Estelle being involved in an accident. She is found with a wound to her head and amnesia. She can’t remember what has happened to Mia and whether she might be involved. The media, of course, have a field day with speculation because Estelle never reported Mia’s disappearance. They begin to blame both parents for their involvement. Estelle goes into a psychiatric unit in order to unravel the truth with the help of a therapist. A lot of information is given to the reader through flashbacks.

I thought Little Girl Gone was a fascinating look at postpartum psychosis. I began to wonder through the use of flashbacks whether Estelle was in some way responsible for Mia’s disappearance. I believe that’s what the author wants you to believe. I certainly didn’t trust Estelle. I do love an unreliable narrator.

I really felt like the author explored the mind of a new mother experiencing postpartum psychosis. I really felt for Estelle and I believe that was down to Alexandra Burt’s writing of a new mum on the edge. I also despaired at the lack of support around for Estelle. It’s so easy to feel negatively about Estelle, especially as you read about some of her darkest thoughts and moments.

For me, the book was too long. Towards the middle of the book I think some of the ‘big reveal’ really slowed down the pace of the story. My interest waned by then. I certainly wasn’t as gripped or invested in the characters at the start. Therefore, even though I would still recommend this book to psychological thriller fans, I don’t think it’s anything stand out in a very populated genre.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Not a stand-out in the genre, but a good psychological thriller with an unreliable narrator!

4 thoughts on “Little Girl Gone

  1. Like Donna, I also like unreliable narrators. I love the fact that you had some doubts about Estelle’s involvement in the disappearance. Glad that you recommend this book despite the few issues that you had with it. I will definitely add it to my TBR.

    I totally agree with you concerning the Gone Girl/The Girl on the Train comparison. In some cases, I think the comparison ruins some books especially when expectations are not met.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

