A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- ‘No more…’

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

Phew! This week has been a real rollercoaster for me. I decided by Tuesday evening that I needed to get stricter with my class. I sorted a seating plan, I made some ‘No more’ statements e.g. No more shouting out and went through the rules with the children. I’m pleased to say that I made SO much headway with my class. They worked harder, they were silent when working and they achieved a lot more than they usually do.

I’ve also worked hard this week to encourage parents to be involved. It’s going well so far, but I have parents evening next week (twice!) so it’ll be interesting to get their feedback.

I have realised that I’ve been way too hard on myself. We are only 5 weeks into the new term and classes take a while to settle. I’m going to keep up my high expectations for their behaviour and keep those consequences for breaking a ‘No more’ rule.

The week ahead is looking busy. I have 2 parents evenings, a school trip and numerous meetings. I’m starting to wonder if my school week is ever quiet!

4 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- ‘No more…’

  1. I love the “No more” system, it sounds effective! Teachers have so much on their plate, don’t be too hard on yourself 🙂 Good luck with the school trip!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

