Mother, Mother

Mother, Mother

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

All is not well with the Hurst family. There is gentle teenage daughter Violet, whose experiments with fasting and drugs land her in a psychiatric ward; eight-year-old Will who is smart, funny and caring but has already been labelled autistic and is being home-schooled; and mother Josephine, whose subtly controlling and seemingly innocent manoeuvres may just be the source of everyone else’s despair. And then there’s Rose, the sister who got away. Tired of Josephine’s interferences, Rose ran away from home years earlier and hasn’t been heard from since. But as her mother’s intentions become more terrifyingly clear, Violet begins to wonder whether something far, far worse happened to her older sister.

Thoughts:

As it may be coming clear on my blog, I do love a psychological thriller. I first heard about this book a few years back when Beth and I visited Luna. They both bought a copy of Mother, Mother. Beth then passed it on for me to read. I decided to pick it up during my summer holidays from work. Mother, Mother sounded like an intriguing, grippiing read. Personally, it took me a while to get into the book. It felt like it was taking me ages to get to the action. Mother, Mother slowly pulls you in and makes you very suspicious of the characters.

Mother, Mother uses dual narratives to explore the relationships the Hurst children have with their mother. Rose, the oldest, has run away from home to escape her mother. Violet has been sectioned in a mental health unit due to an incident against her brother, Will, that she has no recollection of. Will still lives at home with his mum. He is homeschooled by her. Will has autism and epilepsy. He adores his mother and is always willing to please her, never realising how highly manipulative she is.

I found Will and Violet’s perspectives intriguing to read. I personally think they are quite unreliable narrators and because of the nature of the story, I was never sure who to believe. They really do form an interesting account of their home life and both are different due to their differing relationships with their mother.

The mother in question, Josephine, is incredibly manipulative. I didn’t trust her from the very beginning. I didn’t believe Will that she was the loving and caring mother that he believed she was. Reading about her made me feel uncomfortable as I tried to work out what on earth was happening. I think every member of the Hurst family was damaged in some way. The father infuriated me at times as although he has his own problems, I wanted him to stand up for his children sooner than he began to.

Mother, Mother is worth reading but be warned, the pace isn’t as fast as you might expect from a psychological thriller. It’s definitely a slow burner.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!- 3.5 stars!

A decent psychological thriller, which’ll have you doubting the characters!

2 thoughts on “Mother, Mother

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

