Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

Son (The Giver Quartet, #4)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:

Synopsis:

They called her Water Claire. When she washed up on their shore, no one knew that she came from a society where emotions and colors didn’t exist. That she had become a Vessel at age thirteen. That she had carried a Product at age fourteen. That it had been stolen from her body. Claire had a son. But what became of him she never knew. What was his name? Was he even alive? She was supposed to forget him, but that was impossible. Now Claire will stop at nothing to find her child, even if it means making an unimaginable sacrifice.

Thoughts:

Another series bites the dust! I’m thrilled I finally got around to finishing The Giver Quartet. I have really enjoyed this series and think Son is one of the strongest books in the series which is great as all too often I’ve been let down by the final book in the series. This certainly isn’t the case with Son. 

This quartet is a little bit different to other series. Each book is told by a different narrator, however throughout the quartet the characters slowly weave together. It all begins to make sense. Son is certainly one of my favourites in the series. It centres around Claire, Gabe’s mother. Claire was assigned to be a birthmother at a young age. She had to carry a product. However, the birth went wrong and Claire was reassigned. She later found out she had a son and was determined to find her child.

I think the reason I enjoyed this book so much was because it gave me all The Giver emotions but from a different point of view. I loved the beginning and the end of the story when Claire came across Gabe. I didn’t so much enjoy reading about Claire’s life outside of the Community, but that’s because I wanted to read about Gabe. I wanted her to find him so badly. It made my heart hurt a little.

I feel like Son tied lots of loose ends together which I always appreciate with a series. I’d always felt like this series was a little disjointed but this book really did bring everything together. I love seeing how some journeys ended and how some relationships came together. This quartet both broke my heart and warmed it at the same time. It’s a highly enjoyable reading experience that I highly recommend!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A highly enjoyable finish to the quartet. I recommend The Giver if you’re looking for a decent dystopian read!

12 thoughts on “Son (The Giver Quartet #4)

  1. I suspect “dystopia” was coined specifically for The Giver. I know we were teaching it as such long before Hunger Games and other modern YA came on the scene.

    I almost feel like Son is a sequel to The Giver, and the other two are “companion novels.” Same world, overlap of characters, but not that sense of “here’s what happened next.” I agree that Son is the strongest novel in the set since The Giver.

    Have you read Lowry’s Newbery acceptance speech when she won for The Giver? It’s pretty amazing. http://www.walden.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Newbery_Award.pdf

  2. I’ve only read The Giver but definitely want to read the rest of this series at some point. Great review, you’ve motivated me to try to make it sooner rather than later!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

