A Week In The Life of A Primary School Teacher- It may be half term, but I’ve got asssessments coming out of my ears!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week has been full on with assessments. I don’t feel like I’ve actually taught anything this week, but I’m sure I must have done at some point! We’re assessing them so much because it’s come to the end of this half term. It’s been a long one. Seven weeks have flown by though. I finally feel like I’ve got my class exactly where I want them, and some good learning is definitely taking place.

In the next half term, in the lead up to Christmas, I’d quite like to work on their writing. There’s nothing awfully wrong with it (except some children’s allergy to capital letters and full stops) but it just doesn’t seem as in depth as it could be. In comparison to the parallel classes that the rest of my team work in, it’s not as high quality. So that’s my goal really for the next six weeks.

First off, I have a week off. That might sound amazing (it is, for reading time!) but I do have SO many assessments to mark. So many.

In other news- bookish and bloggish- I won Champion Newcomer at the UKYA Book Awards last night. I didn’t attend as I had to start marking assessments (which’ll take me all week with reading breaks) but Luna from Luna’s Little Library let me know. I was thrilled to hear that my blog won ❤ It doesn’t feel like a new blog, but compared to seasoned bloggers it certainly is! A big thank you to the UKYA awards. I was made up!

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life of A Primary School Teacher- It may be half term, but I’ve got asssessments coming out of my ears!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

