My Name Is Lucy Barton

My Name is Lucy Barton

How did I get it?:
I bought it at Mr B’s Emporium!

Synopsis:

Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation. Her mother, to whom she hasn’t spoken for many years, comes to see her. Gentle gossip about people from Lucy’s childhood in Amgash, Illinois, seems to reconnect them, but just below the surface lie the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of Lucy’s life: her escape from her troubled family, her desire to become a writer, her marriage, her love for her two daughters. Knitting this powerful narrative together is the brilliant storytelling voice of Lucy herself: keenly observant, deeply human, and truly unforgettable.

Thoughts:

This short book was recommended at my reading spa in August this year. It was really sold well as an incredibly well written piece of literary fiction. I have to say, it is beautifully written. I don’t often get on with literary fiction, but I felt like I flew through this book.

It starts with Lucy who recalls a time when she was is in hospital recovering from an illness. She was in hospital for a few weeks and was visited by her mother. She was never close with her mother, but this visit gave Lucy the opportunity to catch up with her mum. That’s all there really is to the story, yet it is a wonderfully thought out piece of literature! It feels like a gentle read, but it does include some tough subjects like poverty and neglect. It is through the conversations that we find out what Lucy’s childhood was like and how her life has been a bit of a bumpy road.

I really felt like I was sat in the room, listening to the conversation between Lucy and her mother. Some of the conversation was incredibly deep and thought-provoking. I loved reading about their conversations. There were some witty conversations which were really a pleasure to read. It felt like I was listening to people I knew chatter away. Every I always felt like there was something Lucy was holding back. It is clear that Lucy has had a troubled life with a very difficult background

I did enjoy reading this book, but I felt like there was something missing. I wanted there to be more to the story, but I do often find this is the way I feel with most literary fiction! I do highly recommend Elizabeth’s Strout’s writing. It’s beautiful.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

This book is full of stunning, profound writing!

6 thoughts on “My Name Is Lucy Barton

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

