Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit- Ballet Shoes

Ballet Shoes: A Story of Three Children on the Stage (Shoes, #1)

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Synopsis:

Pauline, Petrova and Posy are orphans determined to help out their new family by joining the Children’s Academy of Dancing and Stage Training. But when they vow to make a name for themselves, they have no idea it’s going to be such hard work! They launch themselves into the world of show business, complete with working papers, the glare of the spotlight, and practice, practice, practice! Pauline is destined for the movies. Posy is a born dancer. But practical Petrova finds she’d rather pilot a plane than perform a pirouette. Each girl must find the courage to follow her dream.

Thoughts:

My first thoughts before starting Ballet Shoes was that I was going to totally love it. I didn’t read it when I was younger, but of course, had heard a lot about it. I thought I’d love it because I love books about dance and I love classic children’s tales. Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed reading Ballet Shoes and read it quickly, it didn’t quite have the charm for me of books like A Little Princess and The Railway Children, two books that really warmed my heart. That’s not to say that I don’t think it’s worth reading. I do. It just didn’t quite hit my high expectations and, in parts, it seemed quite same-y to me.

The story centres around Pauline, Petrova and Posy who aren’t siblings by birth. All three were adopted into a family by someone called GUM (Great Uncle Matthew) and then were raised in London by two women (GUM goes away for a bit, it’s all very strange!) GUM’s money runs out after a while and the family are left very poor. They decide the way to get some money in is to train the siblings as performers. Pauline has a talent for acting and Posy is a wonderful dancer. Petrova doesn’t really enjoy the stage, but knows she needs to bring money into the household- Petrova would rather just fly an airplane. Ballet Shoes follows the girls as they grow older and start to bring money into the house.

I did enjoy how the book was about growing up and becoming responsible whilst balancing their school work. It is a very slow-paced read, but I think is well worth reading. There are some great moments during the story.

It’ll be interesting for me to read Beth’s review to see what she made of it. I wonder if we will differ with this one? For Beth’s wonderful review, please check out her blog HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Reading next in the Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit Challenge (November):
A Series of Unfortunate Events- Lemony Snicket

3 thoughts on “Beth and Chrissi Do Kid-Lit- Ballet Shoes

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

