The Homecoming

The Homecoming

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Sourcebooks Fire

Synopsis:

It’s been a year since John lost his girlfriend, Leah, to suicide. Living with his uncle keeps his mind from the tragedy and his screwed up family-until he gets into trouble and a judge sends him back home. With a neglectful mother and abusive brother, John’s homecoming is far from happy.

As he tries to navigate and repair the relationships he abandoned years ago, Emily, the girl next door, is the only bright spot. She’s sweet and smart and makes him think his heart may finally be healing. But tragedy isn’t far away, and John must soon face an impossible decision: save his family or save himself.

Thoughts:

I requested this book a while back on its synopsis alone. It sounded like an intense read. I wasn’t wrong. The Homecoming isn’t an easy book to read. Despite it being less than 300 pages, there’s a lot of content packed within the pages. It didn’t take me long to read at all. I thought Stacie Ramey’s writing was engaging and she made me care about the characters.

The Homecoming centres around John who has returned home after 7 years of being away. John was kicked out by his mother but is now returning back to the family home. He has a younger sister Livy, who he dotes on and an older brother Ryan. Ryan was in a terrible accident just before John left home and needs constant care. John has gotten himself into a lot of trouble with alcohol and drugs. He keeps on pushing people away. John has gone through a lot, what with his brother and his girlfriend Leah committing suicide. John’s problems and past are dragging him down and not allowing him to realise the potential he has. John meets Emily, his next door neighbour, who has troubles of her own. They connect and begin to help each other. John has so many people wanting him to do the right thing, but he’s not so sure he can stay on the right path.

I enjoyed how the romance in this book wasn’t the central focus of this story. It didn’t seem important to me with everything John had going on. To me, it was more of a story about finding yourself and growing, despite obstacles in the way. It was a heavy going read, there’s drugs. alcohol and family troubles. It’s definitely not a light read but I think it’s an important one.

I thought this was a well written read. I didn’t realise until after reading it that it was a companion novel to the story The Sister Pact, so if you haven’t read that then it’s not a problem. It definitely stands alone quite well.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

An intense read, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

