The Lie Tree

The Lie Tree

How did I get it?:
I bought it from Mr B’s Emporium

Synopsis:

It was not enough. All knowledge- any knowledge – called to Faith, and there was a delicious, poisonous pleasure in stealing it unseen.

Faith has a thirst for science and secrets that the rigid confines of her class cannot supress. And so it is that she discovers her disgraced father’s journals, filled with the scribbled notes and theories of a man driven close to madness. Tales of a strange tree which, when told a lie, will uncover a truth: the greater the lie, the greater the truth revealed to the liar. Faith’s search for the tree leads her into great danger – for where lies seduce, truths shatter . . .

Thoughts:

My sister Beth and I picked up this book at our reading spa at Mr B’s Emporium. Our bibliotherapist sold it to us incredibly well. The Lie Tree was Costa Book of the Year in 2015. It’s easy to see why it won the award as I thought The Lie Tree was beautifully written by Frances Hardinge.  Although this book is aimed towards the YA genre, I truly believe that anyone can and will appreciate the story.

The Lie Tree is set in Victorian England. Faith and her family have recently moved to a small island. Faith’s father is a naturalist. Faith herself has a thirst for science and yearns for more knowledge despite her class confining her. Faith and her family think that they have accompanied her father for work reasons, but Faith finds out that her father’s reputatipn is under fire, meaning that the family’s reputation is declining. Faith’s thirst for knowledge doesn’t fit into what her family and wider society want for her. Faith realises that she’s going to have to learn to use her own initiative. Faith desperately wants to impress her father and be loved by him, but he is stuck in his ways of what a young girl should be doing. Faith remains loyal to her father and when he asks for help (and secrecy) Faith easily agrees. As the truth unravels, Faith learns some truth about her family that she never expected.

I did really enjoy this book, but I felt it was a little slow to start. It took me a while to get engrossed with the story. However, as soon as I was, I loved turning the pages and finding out more. Faith is a strong protagonist and I thoroughly enjoyed reading about her journey. This book has certainly piqued my interest in Frances Hardinge’s other books.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

Absolutely beautiful writing!

4 thoughts on “The Lie Tree

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

