Blog Tour- My Sister’s Bones

How did I get it?:
I received a copy from the publishers! Thanks to Penguin Random House

Synopsis:

ARE YOU BRAVE ENOUGH TO GO BACK?

Kate Rafter is a successful war reporter. She’s the strong one. The one who escaped Herne Bay and the memories it holds. Her sister Sally didn’t. Instead, she drinks.

But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her first night she is woken by a terrifying scream.

What secret has Kate stumbled upon?
And is she strong enough to uncover the truth . . . and make it out alive?

Thoughts:

Well, well, well…I have to admit that this book surprised me. I have read a lot of psychological thrillers over the last few years and I felt like some were becoming a little same-y until Nuala Ellwood stepped forward with My Sister’s Bones. I was really impressed with this psychological thriller. As soon as I got into the story, I didn’t want to put it down. It was utterly readable. The story is told in three parts which I found to be so easy to read.

It mainly centres around Kate Rafter. Kate is a successful reporter. She has covered the awful events in Syria and has been deeply moved but at the same time a little disturbed from what she has seen. After Kate’s mother died, Kate had to return to sort out some business at home. Her younger sister, Sally, was at home, but Sally has fallen to pieces since their father died prior to their mother dying. Sally spends her days completely drunk. Sally’s own family is fractured. Her daughter Hannah has left home, unable to cope with her mother’s alcoholism. Sally’s husband, Paul, is desperate to encourage Sally to become sober, but there’s so much in the family’s past, it’s certainly a tough job.

This book isn’t particularly a light read but it’s so easy to keep reading despite its horrific content in some places. There’s so much going on in the story. There’s the awful events in Syria (which are incredibly evocative), domestic violence and even more awful things which I can’t begin to explain without ruining the story and that I certainly don’t want to do.

I loved this book because I didn’t know whether to trust Kate, our main protagonist. There are certain moments of the book where I believed in her and other moments which made me question her. I adore that in a book. I love uncertainty. It keeps me thinking and guessing. It certainly wasn’t same-y compared to others in its genre. I may have predicted some of the twist and turns in the story, but I didn’t predict all of them!

I absolutely loved this book which kept me turning the pages. It can feel a little slow to start, but trust me, stay with it and I’m sure you’ll enjoy the read!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

If you’re looking for a fabulous psychological thriller then this one could be for you!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

