A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- It’s not just the weekdays…

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

I feel like this year I’ve got a much better work-life balance than I did in my first year of teaching. I don’t tend to work in the evenings and I don’t take books home to mark in the evenings. I tend to stay at school longer or get in earlier so I’m not taking 62 books home a night to mark. YAY me! This means that I actually don’t have to do anything on an evening and my evenings are mine to do as I please. This is MUCH better than last year where I worked constantly…

However, on some weekends I have to take Big Writes home to mark over the weekend. Big Writes are pieces of writing that children do independently. On Friday, my class completed another Big Write so I was busy marking that for a proportion of my Saturday. I have learnt to balance out my Saturday so that it’s a mix of marking/planning but also reading and relaxing. It’s so important to find that balance and I feel I’m definitely getting better at it.

I think sometimes people that don’t work in education don’t realise how much more goes into the job than you might think. I’m in school by 7:15am and don’t tend to leave until 5:30pm (with some work at the weekend) It’s not a 9-5 job. Those holidays we have? Well, usually they consist of marking, assessment, planning etc. I spent over half of my summer holidays (6 weeks) in school getting it ready for my current class.

So, I beg you, if you know a teacher or you’re about to moan about how much time teachers have off, think again. It’s not an easy job but it sure is a worthwhile one.

One thought on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- It’s not just the weekdays…

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

