Infinite Sky

Infinite Sky (Infinite Sky, #1)

How did I get it?:
I received it as my 2nd book in my Reading Year from Mr B’s Emporium.

Synopsis:

A truly beautiful book about the summer that changed one girl’s life, as her mum leaves home, travellers set up camp in the family’s field, her older brother goes off the rails, and she falls in love for the very first time. Opening with a funeral, Iris is mourning the boy in the casket – but who is it? Sam, her tearaway brother, or Trick, her tentative boyfriend? Over one long hot summer, we find out just how their three lives were turned upside-down.

Thoughts:

I was pleased when Infinite Sky turned up on my doorstep as part of my Reading Year from Mr B’s. I had given up on this book before so it certainly tempted me back in. I’m not sure why I gave up on it before as this time around I thought it was a highly enjoyable book that didn’t take me long to tear through. I thought it was highly compelling. I’m glad that they’ve changed the cover of Infinite Sky as the cover I’ve put in this post reflects the story so much more than the cover with the girl under a tree which seemed to give a cutesy vibe to it. It’s certainly not that kind of story.

Infinite Sky tells the story of Iris, a 13 year old girl who has so much going on in her life. Her mother has left her and her family. Her dad is struggling and drinking a lot. Her brother is angry. A group of travellers settle down behind their house. Iris is intrigued by their life style, but her dad is furious that they are there. Both her dad and her brother are quite prejudiced towards them. Despite their opinions, Iris makes friends with Trick, a slightly older boy. They get on so well despite their very different backgrounds. It’s not long before trouble brews between the families which leads to an awful event…

I absolutely loved the character of Iris. I think she came across as much older than her years. She hasn’t had it easy and you can see her struggle between wanting to do right and follow her father’s instructions and wanting to make friends with the travellers. The characters are so well developed, despite it being such a short read. It really has depth to it which I never anticipated.

Infinite Sky has some really heartbreaking moments, but it’s such a beautifully written story. I think many readers would enjoy it!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

Infinite Sky stole my heart!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

