From Bad To Cursed (Bad Girls Don’t Die #2)

From Bad to Cursed (Bad Girls Don't Die, #2)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Bad Girls Don’t Die

Synopsis:

Alexis is the last girl you’d expect to sell her soul. She already has everything she needs–an adorable boyfriend, the perfect best friend, and a little sister who’s finally recovering after being possessed by an evil spirit, then institutionalized.

Alexis is thrilled when her sister joins a club; new friends are just what Kasey needs. It’s strange, though, to see how fast the girls in The Sunshine Club go from dorky and antisocial to gorgeous and popular. Soon Alexis learns that the girls have pledged an oath to a seemingly benevolent spirit named Aralt. Worried that Kasey’s in over her head again, Alexis and her best friend Megan decide to investigate by joining the club themselves. At first, their connection with Aralt seems harmless. Alexis trades in her pink hair and punky clothes for a mainstream look, and quickly finds herself reveling in her newfound elegance and success.

Instead of fighting off the supernatural, Alexis can hardly remember why she joined in the first place. Surely it wasn’t to destroy Aralt…why would she hurt someone who has given her so much, and asked for so little in return?

Thoughts:

I think I’ve made it known here on my blog that horror isn’t usually my sort of thing. Then I read Bad Girls Don’t Die and absolutely loved it. I finally got around to reading From Bad To Cursed and I absolutely loved it. It’s a very different book to the first. It still has some of the same characters but I felt this one had a different vibe. I found it to be incredibly unsettling but utterly gripping at the same time.

From Bad To Cursed follows Alexis and her sister Kasey. Kasey has finally come home and is attempting to go to high school following the awful things that happened to her. Alexis is thrilled when Kasey joins The Sunshine Club. Kasey is in need of some friends. However, there is something different about The Sunshine Club. Alexis finds out that the girls have pledged an oath to a spirit called Aralt. The Sunshine Club are getting more beautiful and popular by the minute. Alexis is worried that Kasey will get in all sorts of trouble. Alexis and Megan join The Sunshine Club and find themselves intrigued by the increasing confidence, elegance and success. Alexis becomes completely enveloped in The Sunshine Club and begins to forget her reasons why she joined the club in the first place.

As I mentioned, I’m not one for scary. I’d definitely describe this book as creepy and unsettling but nothing that’ll keep you wide awake at night or cause you to have nightmares. Yes, this sometimes happens to me, I have an overactive imagination.

I thought Katie Alender’s writing was superb in this sequel. I find it simple, but engaging to read. It captured my attention throughout the story. The plot is fast paced and the changes on Alexis creep up on you and before you know it, you realise Alexis is deep trouble. I am so intrigued to see what happens in the next book as it ends in such a gripping manner. I’m just pleased that it’s already out so I can read it as soon as I can slip it in!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic, creepy sequel! I loved it!

6 thoughts on “From Bad To Cursed (Bad Girls Don’t Die #2)

  1. I’ve heard some things about the first book, but this sequel is almost invisible – no one ever talks about it, at least no one from my goodreads friends and in my group.
    I’m so glad I came across your review, and it’s good to hear you liked it. 🙂
    And oh, the cover is creppy already! 😉

  2. I don’t do scary either or my imagination goes wild and I lose the few hours of sleep I get at night. But I like the sound of this book. Creepy is always good 😀

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

