Behind The Scenes (Daylight Falls #1)

Behind the Scenes (Daylight Falls, #1)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Synopsis:

High school senior Ally Duncan’s best friend may be the Vanessa Park – star of TV’s hottest new teen drama – but Ally’s not interested in following in her BFF’s Hollywood footsteps. In fact, the only thing Ally’s ever really wanted is to go to Columbia and study abroad in Paris. But when her father’s mounting medical bills threaten to stop her dream in its tracks, Ally nabs a position as Van’s on-set assistant to get the cash she needs.

Spending the extra time with Van turns out to be fun, and getting to know her sexy co-star Liam is an added bonus. But when the actors’ publicist arranges for Van and Liam to “date” for the tabloids just after he and Ally share their first kiss, Ally will have to decide exactly what role she’s capable of playing in their world of make believe. If she can’t play by Hollywood’s rules, she may lose her best friend, her dream future, and her first shot at love.

Thoughts:

I have had Behind The Scenes on my radar for what seems like ages, so I was pleased to finally get around to picking it up on my week break from my job. It was engaging and fun to read.

It centres around Ally who has a famous teen actress as a best friend. Ally doesn’t have it easy. Her father’s medical bills are threatening her dream to go to Columbia to study. Ally and her friend Van come up with a plan to solve the issue which would involve Ally being Van’s on-set assistant. Ally has a great time being an assistant, she gets to earn good money and spend some time with Van whilst Van films. She also finds herself falling for Liam, Van’s stunning co-star. However, Van’s publicist decides that Van and Liam should ‘date’ for the tabloids which begins to cause all sorts of problems for Liam and Ally.

Behind The Scenes is such a readable love story. It being centred in Hollywood means there’s so much drama to read about. It’s great to try and imagine what happens in Hollywood. We all know that it isn’t exactly what it seems. I loved reading about how contrived relationships can be in the media. I’m pretty sure that it happens much more than we might think.

What I loved about Behind The Scenes was the story of friendship amongst the romance. Ally and Van’s friendship was real and survived the test of time (and Hollywood) even though they were so different. The romance is completely adorable too. Liam is such a fantastic character. I really believed in the relationship.

Dahlia Adler’s writing style is so easy to read. I found it really comforting to read. I lapped up the story, completely engrossed in the plot. I shall definitely be reading more from Dahlia in the future if this book is anything to go by!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

A wonderful piece of YA contemporary! Worth reading!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

