The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #2)

The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter, #2)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
The Sin Eater’s Daughter

Synopsis:

Ever since her brother Lief disappeared, Errin’s life has gone from bad to worse. Not only must she care for her sick mother, she has to scrape together rent money by selling illegal herbal cures. But none of that compares to the threat of the vengeful Sleeping Prince whom the Queen just awoke from his enchanted sleep.

When her village is evacuated as part of the war against the Sleeping Prince, Errin is left desperate and homeless. The only person she can turn to is the mysterious Silas, a young man who buys deadly poisons from Errin, but won’t reveal why he needs them. Silas promises to help her, but when he vanishes, Errin must journey across a kingdom on the brink of war to seek another way to save her mother and herself. But what she finds shatters everything she believed about her world, and with the Sleeping Prince drawing nearer, Errin must make a heartbreaking choice that could affect the whole kingdom.

Thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed reading The Sin Eater’s Daughter last year despite it having some mixed reviews. I was excited to pick up the next book in the series and I’m so pleased that I made the time to read it during my week break from work. It was so engaging and a fantastic follow up to The Sin Eater’s Daughter. I’m ever so excited about the next book in the series now, from the ending of The Sleeping Prince, I have very high hopes. I would definitely class The Sleeping Prince as more of a companion, but it just enhances the reading experience if you’ve read The Sin Eater’s Daughter.

In The Sleeping Prince we are introudced to new characters. Errin is our main protagonist. We are also introduced to a characteer called Silas and the Sleeping Prince himself. I liked Errin immediately. I loved how independent she was and how fiercely loyal she was to her family. I do love a strong female lead and that’s exactly what Errin is. I was intrigued by Silas and wanted to know more about him. I don’t want to spoil the plot so I won’t speak too much about the plot itself. I will just say there are amazing characters and some twists and turns along the way. I love how the story eventually linked to The Sin Eater’s Daughter. So very clever.

It won’t be a surprise to regular readers of my blog to read that I love a fairy tale. I think one of the reasons why I love this series so much, is because I love the plot line which remind me so much of my beloved fairy tales! I really do think there’s something for everyone in this book. It’s full of detail, alchemy, mythology, action and a very small slice of romance…it’s fantastic. I could have easily read this book in one sitting.

I wish I didn’t have so long to wait for the next book in the series The Scarecrow Queen but from thoroughly enjoying The Sleeping Prince I know it’ll be worth the wait.

Would I recommend it?
Of course!

A fabulous companion novel. Melinda Salisbury’s writing is delicious!

6 thoughts on “The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #2)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

