Four Seconds To Lose (Ten Tiny Breaths #3)

Four Seconds to Lose (Ten Tiny Breaths, #3)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Ten Tiny Breaths
One Tiny Lie

Synopsis:

When a gorgeous young dancer walks through his door, a strip club owner must decide whether to follow his rules or his heart in the third novel by the author of One Tiny Lie and Ten Tiny Breaths.

Owning a strip club isn’t the fantasy most guys expect it to be. With long hours, a staff with enough issues to keep a psych ward in business, and the police regularly on his case, twenty-nine-year-old Cain is starting to second guess his unspoken mission to save the women he employs. And then blond, brown-eyed Charlie Rourke walks through his door, and things get really complicated. Cain abides by a strict “no sleeping with the staff” rule. But being around Charlie challenges Cain’s self-control… and it’s been a long time since any woman has done that.

Twenty-two-year-old Charlie Rourke needs a lot of money, really fast, in order to vanish before it’s too late. Taking her clothes off for men makes her stomach curl but Charlie tells herself that at least she’s putting her acting and dancing skills to good use. And though her fellow dancers seem eager to nab their sexy, sophisticated, and genuinely caring boss, she’s not interested. After all, Charlie Rourke doesn’t really exist—and the girl pretending to be her can’t get distracted by romance.

Unfortunately, Charlie soon discovers that developing feelings for Cain is inevitable, and that those feelings may not be unrequited—but losing him when he finds out what she’s involved with will be more painful than any other sentence awaiting her.  

Thoughts:

I dip into this genre every now and then. I can honestly say that I’m not a huge fan of the New Adult genre. I like Katie McGarry’s writing and now, I can safely say, I really enjoy K.A Tucker’s writing. I have really enjoyed the series so far but Four Seconds To Lose felt different. It has a much darker feel to it which I enjoyed! I was excited to read this book when I learnt it was about Cain…a character who intrigued me in Ten Tiny Breaths.

Four Seconds to Lose introduces its readers to a new character called Charlie Rourke. Right from the beginning we learn that Charlie has a complicated life. She grew up with her step-dad Sam as a guardian. Charlie’s mother and brother have died and Charlie is left with a very shady guardian. Her step-dad deals drugs and uses Charlie as part of the drug drops. Charlie is sent to Miami for a dealership, but she has plants to break free. Charlie goes to a strip club owned by Cain in order to seek employment and get some money so she can finally get away from her step-dad. Cain and Charlie have a connection and Charlie finds herself wanting to stay in Miami with Cain.

The plot was brilliant. I loved the element of danger, the mystery and the build up to Cain and Charlie’s relationship. The drug element of the story built and built and I knew that it wasn’t going to end well. It certainly kept me turning the pages.

I actually really enjoyed both the characters of Cain and Charlie. I loved the way Cain treated Charlie. I was expecting him to be a bit of an arrogant idiot, but he wasn’t at all. He really cared for all of the girls that worked for him, despite him owning a rather seedy business. I adored the character of Charlie. I really wanted her to tell the truth throughout because I didn’t want anything to get in the way of her relationship. I loved how strong she was and how determined she was to change her life.

I loved to see some of the other characters from the previous two books pop up. I love when there’s connections between the books. That said, Four Seconds To Lose can be read as a standalone book as it doesn’t connect to the previous two books in a confusing way. It complements the story if you know of the previous characters but it’s not a necessity to know of them.

I am looking forward to finishing this series (I aim to pick up the next book after my current one!) and exploring more of K.A. Tucker’s work in the future.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A sweet, emotional but dark read. Possibly my favourite in the series so far!

2 thoughts on “Four Seconds To Lose (Ten Tiny Breaths #3)

  1. I haven’t read any of the books in this series, but they do sound SUPER intriguing! It’s such a shame they”re not available in my country. Perhaps I’ll buy the e-book soon!

    Thanks for the wonderful review

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

