Five Ways To Fall (Ten Tiny Breaths #4)

Five Ways to Fall (Ten Tiny Breaths, #4)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Ten Tiny Breaths
One Tiny Lie
Four Seconds To Lose

Synopsis:

Purple-haired, sharp-tongued Reese MacKay knows all about making the wrong choice; she’s made plenty of them in her twenty-odd-years. So when her impulsive, short-lived marriage ends in heartbreak, she decides it’s time for a change. She moves to Miami with the intention of hitting reset on her irresponsible life, and she does quite well…aside from an epically humiliating one-night stand in Cancun with a hot blond bouncer named Ben. Thank God she can get on a plane and leave that mistake behind her.

Football scholarship and frat parties with hot chicks? Part of charmer Ben Morris’s plan. Blown knee that kills any hope of a professional football career? So not part of the plan. Luckily Ben has brains to go with his knockout looks and magnetism. After three long years of balancing law school with his job as a bouncer at Penny’s Palace, he’s ready to lead a more mature life—until his first day of work, when he finds himself in the office of that crazy, hot chick he met in Cancun. The one he hasn’t stopped thinking about.

If Ben truly were a smart guy, he’d stay clear of Reese. She’s the boss’s stepdaughter and it’s been made very clear that office romances are grounds for dismissal. Plus, rumor has it she’s trouble. The only problem is, he likes trouble, especially when it’s so good-looking…  

Thoughts:

After absolutely loving the previous book in this series, Four Seconds To Lose, I had high hopes for Five Ways To Fall. However, I was slightly disappointed with Five Ways To Fall. I would totally still recommend the series, especially to fans of New Adult and romantic fiction but I just found this book to be a bit predictable and not as gripping as some of the other in the series.

This book follows Ben Morris who was the hot bouncer/law student (what a combination!) who we’ve seen cameos from in other books and a new character Reese McKay- who is a troubled girl who married young and then was cheated on by her husband. Ben and Reese meet in Cancun one night when Ben is partying and Reese is celebrating her 21st birthday. They very nearly get together but there’s a vomit incident…Later on they have an unexpected meeting and their feisty relationship develops even further.

I think one of the reasons why I didn’t connect with this story as much as I wanted to, was that I didn’t really buy into Ben and Reese’s relationship. I have to say that I preferred Reese to Ben as I liked her feisty side. Ben was cocky and I couldn’t really get over that…even though he does grow towards the end of the story- so there’s that!

The plot wasn’t nearly as exciting as Four Seconds To Lose and I think that was this book’s downfall. If you’re looking for a romance story then I definitely think you shouldn’t be put off as the romance is well written and it’s certainly a readable story!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars!

A decent read, but not nearly exciting as its predecessors!

6 thoughts on “Five Ways To Fall (Ten Tiny Breaths #4)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

