As Dead It Gets- Spoiler for Book 2! (Bad Girls Don’t Die #3)

As Dead As It Gets (Bad Girls Don't Die, #3)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously read by the same author:
Bad Girls Don’t Die
From Bad To Cursed

Synopsis:

It’s been three months since Alexis helplessly witnessed Lydia Small’s violent death, and all she wants is for her life to return to normal.

But normal people don’t see decaying bodies haunting photographs. Normal people don’t have to deal with regular intrusions from Lydia’s angry ghost, sometimes escalating to terrifying attacks.

At first, it seems that Lydia wants revenge on Alexis alone. But a girl from school disappears one night, and Alexis spots one of Lydia’s signature yellow roses lying on the girl’s dresser the next day. Soon, it becomes clear that several of Alexis’s friends are in danger, and that she’s the only person who can save them. But as she tries to intervene, Alexis realizes that her enemy is a much more powerful ghost than she’s ever faced before… and that its fate is tied to hers in ways she couldn’t possibly imagine.

Not even in her worst nightmares.  

Thoughts:

I think most regular readers of my blog will know that I’m not a massive fan of horror/paranormal. I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat when it comes to horror. I have a way too active imagination. However, I have devoured the Bad Girls Don’t Die series by Katie Alender. It’s a fantastic YA ghost series which I really don’t see enough of around the blogosphere. I expected more drama in this finale if I’m completely honest, but it was still utterly readable and chilling at the same time.

As Dead as It Gets takes place not long after the events of From Bad To Cursed. Our main protagonist, Alexis can now see ghosts, especially in photographs that she takes. Alexis is keen to give up this hobby because she’s fed up of being spooked by ghosts. Alexis is haunted by Lydia Small who died in the second book. Carter, who was with Alexis has started dating another girl and Alexis decides to move on with Jared. Jared is quite a lovable character in the second book, so I could get on board with this relationship. Girls have been disappearing and two of them have been found dead, each time a girl disappears yellow roses are found by her. Alexis is convinced that Lydia has something to do with it as Lydia had yellow roses at her funeral.

I felt like Alexis was pretty alone in this book. She was so isolated. We didn’t see much of her relationship with Kasey, her relationship with Carter and her best friend Megan. We see her relationship with Jared, but we soon learn that he is incredibly controlling. I really wanted someone to be there for her and that was lacking at first in this book. I did like Elliot though, who we are introduced to- she begins to develop a friendship with Alexis.

I really enjoyed the character of Lydia in As Dead As It Gets! I love how her character develops over the course of the series, she grows so much in this book and there are some particularly chilling scenes that involve her. On the other hand, there are some incredibly touching scenes too. She was one of my favourite things about this book.

I think there was far too much going on in this book and it lost some of the charm of the first two books. However, I’d still highly recommend this series. I’ve been so impressed with Katie Alender’s writing, I’m eager to explore more.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

Not an explosive ending, but decent all the same!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

