The One Memory of Flora Banks

The One Memory of Flora Banks

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Penguin Random House

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

With little more than the words “be brave” inked into her skin, and written reminders of who she is and why her memory is so limited, Flora sets off on an impossible journey to Svalbard, Norway, the land of the midnight sun, determined to find Drake. But from the moment she arrives in the arctic, nothing is quite as it seems, and Flora must “be brave” if she is ever to learn the truth about herself, and to make it safely home.

Thoughts:

I have to admit that this book’s synopsis really pulled me in and had me eagerly downloading it. Luckily, it’s a publisher that had auto approved me (thank you Penguin Random House) so I could download it straight away. I think The One Memory of Flora Banks is a very unique read and I’m pleased that I had the chance to read it.

The story centres around Flora Banks who is a seventeen year old girl. After suffering a brain tumour, Flora has lost the ability to create long term memories. She can keep things in her head for a few hours at the most. One night she kisses her best friend’s boyfriend and finds herself remembering that moment. It leads Flora to an adventure to find this guy as he is now in the Arctic. Flora is determined to find out why she can remember the kiss and only the kiss.

This book was intriguing because I don’t think it comfortably sits in one genre. It’s of course, a YA read, but there’s also an element of thriller and mystery which I hadn’t anticipated. There’s a bit of romance as well.

I really enjoyed the character of Flora. She was incredibly brave, intelligent and I loved her resilient. Flora is such a vulnerable character. I felt for her every step of the way through the novel. I completely bought into her story.

The writing style is interesting because it can be repetitive at times which I think is really fitting to the story because Flora herself has to go through the same thing every day. I can’t imagine a life like that. I can imagine that it might frustrate some readers but I would encourage you to stick with it because it’s worth it.

I do think this book suffers a little from a slow pace towards the middle of the story. However, I found the end to be particularly gripping. I did have a few unanswered questions at the end of the book, but nothing that annoyed me too much.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes! 3.5 stars

An interesting story. I’d definitely read more from this author!

8 thoughts on “The One Memory of Flora Banks

  1. I’m glad you liked this. I absolutely LOVED it šŸ™‚ My review’s going up later today.
    I do know what you mean about the repetitive passages possibly annoying some readers. I did think that a couple of times. But, like you, I’d urge everyone to stick with it.

  2. I’ve seen this book on different blogs and I’m growing curious. I like the idea of no new memories, although I imagine it must be hell to live with! I like that it doesn’t fall into a single category, I was not expecting to hear there was a bit of mystery. Great review!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

