Ten Underrated Books That I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, it’s all about underrated or hidden gems that we’ve read within the last year or so.

Some of these have got some good ratings on Goodreads but I don’t feel I see them around enough for how good they are!

For the Goodreads page, please click on the book image!

A Boy Made Of Blocks- Keith Stuart

A Boy Made of Blocks

I don’t know if I’ll ever stop promoting this book wherever I can. I thought it was an absolutely beautiful read which explores the relationship between a father and his child who has autism. It’s much more than just about relationships. It’s a stunning read and I can’t recommend it highly enough!

Strange Star- Emma Carroll

Strange Star

Emma Carroll is another great writer who I wish more people read! 🙂 This is because I think her writing is so impressive. I always feel like I’m inside the story. This story is inspired by the creation of Frankenstein!

Dead Romantic- C.J. Skuse

Dead Romantic

Such a unique story. It’s about a girl who wants to create her perfect boyfriend from dead parts of others…

Crush- Eve Ainsworth

Crush

This book is incredibly raw. It centres around an abusive teenage relationship!

Orangeboy- Patrice Lawrence

Orangeboy

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book!

V is for Violet- Alison Rattle

V for Violet

Alison Rattle’s books are always underrated in my opinion.

The Next Together- Lauren James

The Next Together (The Next Together #1)

I know that this book has received mixed reviews, but I really hope people aren’t put off by it!

The Haunting- Alex Bell

The Haunting

Everyone’s all about the author’s book Frozen Charlotte which is awesome, but I prefer The Haunting.

Between The Notes- Sharon Huss Roat

Between the Notes

I really enjoyed this contemporary YA read.

Born Weird- Andrew Kaufman

Born Weird

A very unusual, unique read!

What are your underrated or hidden gems that you’ve read recently? Feel free to leave a link to your Top Ten post and I’ll stop by!

48 thoughts on “Ten Underrated Books That I’ve Read In The Past Year Or So

  1. Aside from “Between The Notes,” these are all unfamiliar to me – which is a great thing! You definitely introduced me to some underrated reads. 🙂 I seem to remember thinking ‘Notes’ sounded good at the time of its cover reveal, so I’m quite curious to rediscover it now.

    Thanks, as always, for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi.

  2. I love this topic since everyone has different books this week and it’s always nice to see what people think are underrated! V for Violet looks interesting and I like that tagline!

  3. I am finding all kinds of crazy goodness with today’s lists. I’ve not heard of any of these to be honest and all of them sound really interesting. Dead Romantic sounds creepy and I think I probably will give Orangeboy a shot for sure. Great list!

  4. I’ve never heard of Alex Bell before but the cover for “The Haunting” looks fantastic, I just looked up the other books in the Red Eye series and they all are really pretty. I’m always looking for good horror stories, so thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

