How Hard Can Love Be? (The Spinster Club #2)

How Hard Can Love Be? (The Spinster Club, #2)

How did I get it?:
I bought it!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Am I Normal Yet?

Synopsis:

All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that.

And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.

Thoughts:

My first step into Holly Bourne was the wonderful Am I Normal Yet? which followed Evie’s story. We also read about Evie’s best friend Lottie and Amber. In the next instalment of The Spinster Club we follow Amber’s story. I am loving this series which has such strong messages about feminism, love and friendship.

The story centres around Amber who jets off to California to spend some time with her mum. Amber’s mum has ‘abandoned’ her and went to live with the States. Amber was left with her dad and her evil stepmother and brother. Amber’s mum has organised for Amber to spend the summer as camp counsellor in a camp that she owns with her new partner. Amber expects to reconnect with her mum but finds her mum avoiding her and them actually spending a lot of time apart. Amber finds herself getting close to another camp counsellor, Kyle, who is everything a cliché American boy should be. Amber didn’t think someone like Kyle would be into someone like her, but he is but Amber needs to protect her heart since she will be flying back to England soon.

I enjoyed reading from Amber’s perspective. I liked how authentic she came across. The book is quite dark in places, but again it makes it feel really realistic. Life isn’t always bright for everyone. This book deals with the experience of having an alcoholic parent who isn’t always there. We see how much alcoholism can damage relationships. Despite everything that goes on in Amber’s life, Amber just wants a relationship with her. This book really does explore how difficult it is to have an alcoholic in the family and the struggles there can be.

Something I love about this series so far is the feminism. I love that Holly Bourne is taking the word and playing around with it. It’s taking the word ‘feminist’ and ‘spinster’ and really exploring what it means to be equal. I love that. I think it’s such a positive outlook for young people these days and I appreciate that!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A fantastic second book which can be read as a standalone or as a companion novel to Am I Normal Yet?

2 thoughts on “How Hard Can Love Be? (The Spinster Club #2)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

