A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Hopeful!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week has been an incredibly tough one, however, towards the end of the week I started to feel much better which is good. This week I’ve really been focusing on their behaviour and I feel like it’s starting to turn around once more. I’m trying not to be too optimistic though as they’ve done this before for a few weeks and then went back to their ways. I’m determined that this won’t happen again!

I haven’t made any secret of the fact that I’ve struggled with my class and behaviour this academic year. I have 4 children in particular who have incredibly challenging behavioural needs. I do still adore my class though, they’re just making me adapt my teaching style very, very quickly.

I feel like I’m learning so much more in my second year of teaching and that’s got to be a positive thing. I’m learning that the teaching part is the easy bit of the job. The worst/hardest part? Parents! Of course, every parent wants the best for their child and I understand that completely. However, I think sometimes parents forget that I have 30 other children in the class alongside their little darling.

I’m going to be trying out a range of new teaching techniques in writing this week to try and achieve better quality writing from the children. We’ll see how that one goes!

I’m hopeful that my class will turn a corner and really start making the progress I know they can make.

6 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Hopeful!

  1. Establishing that relationship with patents can be so difficult! I don’t know why so many parents see teachers as the enemy. Maybe it is the fear of being judged? I am super lucky because I have the same group of students this year so my parents all know me now. I feel like it is a matter of making them feel safe and letting them know that you are on the same side… but there is always that one parent who doesn’t seem to experience reality the same way the rest of the world does!

    • I know. it’s such a strange thing. I have some of the same parents from last year, but mainly new parents. I’m starting to build a relationship with my difficult ones but it has taken some time! It’s crazy.

  2. You’re probably learning more by having this challenging class early in your teaching career as you can learn early on how to deal with things. Sounds to me like you’re doing really well with the challenge!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

