Top Ten Freebie- Ten Books I’ve Recently Read To Children

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, it’s a freebie which means we can pick what we’d like to list! I’ve decided to pick ten books I’ve recently read to my class. If you don’t know already, I’m a primary school teacher- I teach 7-9 year olds. I absolutely love reading to them and I’ve read some gems with them since 2015 when I started with my first class.

The World’s Worst Children- David Walliams

The World's Worst Children

They absolutely adored this book. There’s loads of characters who all get a chapter each. These children are horrendous and so fun to read about like Nigel Nit Boy and Windy Mindy.

Billionaire Boy- David Walliams

Billionaire Boy

This is a book that we’ve recently finished. They absolutely adored it and it had them laughing out loud many a time. It’s all about a boy who comes from a rich family who is desperately trying to fit in.

Stone Age Boy- Satoshi Kitamura

Stone Age Boy

This book was great as a hook into our topic of the Stone Age.

Stone Age, Bone Age- Mick Manning and Brita Granstrom

26830417

This is factual but great fun.

Matilda- Roald Dahl

Matilda

I will always love Roald Dahl and this book warms my heart. They absolutely adored it and loved to hate the Trunchbull.

The B.F.G.- Roald Dahl

The BFG

Another one they loved. They still talk about whizzpoppers now, it’s amazing!

George’s Marvellous Medicine- Roald Dahl

George's Marvellous Medicine

They loved to hate the wonderfully awful Grandma!

The Twits- Roald Dahl

The Twits

The Twits is such a great read. They were howling with laughter.

Charlie and The Chocolate Factory- Roald Dahl

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)

Another one they lapped up quickly. My class were so immersed in Roald Dahl.

My Brother’s Famous Bottom- Jeremy Strong

My Brother's Famous Bottom

I tried this book with my class as the author is said to be similar to Roald Dahl. They liked it and of course, loved the word bottom!

Have you read any of these books? Who is your favourite children’s author? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your Top Ten posts and I’ll stop by.

67 thoughts on “Top Ten Freebie- Ten Books I’ve Recently Read To Children

  1. This is nice. Actually for next week’s TTT since it is about comic books and I haven’t read one in my life , I left my 10 year’s old daughter to pick her favorite books that she thinks everyone should read.
    My TTT,

  2. This is such a great list! I haven’t read Roald Dahl in years, but I loved them as a kid. David Walliams just seems like he would be a fantastic children’s author and I’d love to read one of his books just to see what it’s like.

    My TTT

  3. Roald Dahl is always the most popular choice when reading aloud to children. The Twits usually gets the most laugh, although I love reading The Giraffe The Pelly & Me even if I can’t sing as well as Hugh Laurie does on the audio version.

  4. I LOVE The BFG!! Another book I adored when I was younger was If You Give A Pig A Pancake. I thought the illustrations of the pig were SO CUTE ❤ Great list!

  5. My brother is a primary school teacher and he loves reading with them. I think he mentioned his favourite to read to them is the Gruffalo byJulia Donaldson. It’s such a cute book and the BBC adaptation is sweet as well.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

