A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- A mixed bag!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week has been a real mixed bag! It started off really well with the children working incredibly hard and really taking on our poetry module. From my previous experience, some children can find poetry difficult, so I think I was approaching it with slightly lower expectations than usual. They really got on board with it and all was good! I still do Science Club on a Monday, and that went really well this week too!

Tuesday was a great day professionally for me. I organised a reading event which was all about reading for pleasure. Something that is incredibly close to my heart. We had SO many children turn up with their parents and it was lovely to see children reading closely with their parents. 🙂 It made this teacher bookworm very happy indeed. I think hot chocolate enticed them but they were genuinely interested in the books.

I had an ICT conference on the Wednesday in London which was great fun. I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as I did, but it was great to see what’s about for education. I’m not sure if I’ll get any of the apps/programs that I want (money is so tight in schools at the moment) but it’s good to know what is out there!

My class behaved on that day for their supply teacher, however, they didn’t do as well in their work as usual. It was frustrating but I guess I should take it as flattering that they work their best for me! 😉

So all in all, a good if mixed week! We’ve started our new class book Gangsta Granny and we’ve had some much better behaviour which I’m pleased about.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

