Beth And Chrissi Do Kid-Lit- Prince Caspian

Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia, #2)

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Previously reviewed by the same author:

Synopsis:

The Pevensie siblings are back to help a prince denied his rightful throne as he gathers an army in a desperate attempt to rid his land of a false king. But in the end, it is a battle of honor between two men alone that will decide the fate of an entire world.

Thoughts:

I don’t recall reading past The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe when I was younger. I don’t think I did, so reading Prince Caspian for the kid-lit challenge was intriguing. I don’t think it quite has the magic of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe but it’s still a decent read. It introduces us to some new people, the Telmarines, as well as going back to the Pevensies who we know well!

The story flips between the Telmarines and the Pevensies. When we are introduced to the new characters we also get to know Caspian and some of the politics surrounding his life and time. Everything changes when the Pevensies are summoned back to Narnia. They have spent around a year in the real world although 1,000 years has passed in Narnian time. The world is very different- Narnia has a changed landscape, politics has changed and the Pevensies have to get used to Narnia not being what they remember.

I never really got the religious messages when I was younger, but I can definitely identify them more reading this series as an adult. I feel like Prince Caspian does still have a subtle religious message. It’s about faith and believing there is something that makes life worth living. At the start, the family have no allies and it is not until Lucy starts to see the wonderful Aslan when others can’t that the message appears to be help comes to those that believe.

Prince Caspian did keep me turning the pages with its fast paced story-line. I love reading about the Pevensies once more. It felt incredibly familiar.

For Beth’s wonderful review, please check out her blog HERE.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

Next in the Beth and Chrissi do Kid-Lit Challenge (February):
The Cuckoo Sister- Vivian Alcock

3 thoughts on “Beth And Chrissi Do Kid-Lit- Prince Caspian

  1. I remember really enjoying most of the series when I was younger, I think I struggled slightly to get into The Magician’s Nephew but after that I was away, I might have to get new copies of them now as mine are at the other end of the country.

    I hope you enjoy the rest when you get to them

  2. Pingback: Beth And Chrissi Do Kid-Lit 2017 – JANUARY READ – Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis | bibliobeth

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

