Top Ten Graphic Novels I’ve Read And Want To Read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, it’s all about the visuals. Graphic novels that we’ve read, enjoyed or want to read. I have split the list two ways and have picked my top 5 I’ve read so far and the top 5, I want to read.

5 I’ve Read

Lighter Than My Shadow- Katie Green

Lighter Than My Shadow

This is an incredible memoir of the author’s struggle with eating disorders.

El Deafo- Cece Bell

El Deafo

This book is a fantastic read with a deaf child at the heart of it.

Drama- Raina Telegemeier

Drama

I can’t believe that this book was banned! It’s great fun.

Saga

Saga, Vol. 1

It may be a bit much for some readers in some places but I loved it!

Through The Woods

Through the Woods

I loved this creepy read.

5 to read…

Anya’s Ghost- Vera Brosgol

Anya's Ghost

I’m intrigued by this book. I’ve heard great things.

This One Summer- Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki

 

This One Summer

Again, I have heard wonderful things about this book.

Smile- Raina Telgemeier

Smile

I liked Drama by the same author, so I’m intrigued to read more.

Hyperbole and a Half- Allie Brosh

Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

I’ve seen good reviews of this one.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret- Brian Selznick

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

This book intrigues me. I’ve picked it up a few times but never purchased a copy.

What graphic novels do you recommend? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your posts and I’ll stop by.

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Graphic Novels I’ve Read And Want To Read

  1. Anya’s Ghost is an awesome book! I chose it for the paranormal unit in my YA Lit class, and really liked that the paranormal element blended so well with the overall story. I also loved Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis books, about her childhood and early adult years in Iran, and her adolescence abroad in Vienna.

  2. Ooh Hyperbole and a Half! Been wanting to read that! And Drama looks cute. Saga is all the rage but I haven’t had a chance yet to get that…

  3. I don’t really like graphic novels etc. Just not my kind of thing, so I decided to skip out on this weeks ttt – however, some of these covers are really pretty 🙂

  4. So many of these look great! I’m really interested in Drama and Anya’s Ghost. I already wanted to read Saga. Seeing it on all these lists this week is going to make me buy it! 🙂

    My Top Ten

  5. I did not do a list today for myself, I asked my daughter if she wanted to help and list her favorite books!
    I never read a comic book.So The only ones I read were the VA and Percy Jackson graphic novels. But we did something a little different. Allyson added some comics she read on her list.
    Also check out our easy to enter Valentine’s giveaway!

    My TTT.

  6. Fab list! I love graphic novels and really want to make an effort to read more this year so your list has come in very handy! If you’re a bit of a foodie, I can highly recommend Relish by Lucy Knisley and Perspolis by Marjane Strapi is very relevant given what’s happening in the world atm.

  7. I like Saga, but I feel like I don’t love it quite as much as everyone else! I do like the diversity and the general storyline, but I feel like I’m missing something that everyone else sees.

    I really want to read This One Summer, too! I have read Hugo Cabret, but I watched the movie beforehand (which I adored), so I think I was spoiled for it, haha.

    If you haven’t read them already I highly recommend Ms Marvel and Lumberjanes! They are both really great stories about awesome teenage girls 😀 (And they’re both diverse reads, too.)

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

