Disclaimer

Disclaimer

How did I get it?:
I received it as my third book from Mr B’s Emporium’s Reading Year

Synopsis:

When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine’s bedside table, she curls up and begins to read.

But as she turns the pages she is horrified to realize she is a key character, a main player.

This story will reveal her darkest secret.

A secret she thought no one else knew…

Thoughts:

I was sent this book as my third book in my reading year which was purchased for me by my sister Beth from Bibliobeth and my mum. I get a book a month sent to me from the wonderful Mr B’s Emporium. This was one of their picks for me and I was very impressed with it. I think most regular readers of my blog will know that I’m quite a fan of psychological thrillers and this one immediately gripped me.

It centres around Catherine Ravenscroft who seems to have it all. She is married to a devoted husband, Robert and they both have successful careers. They have one son, Nicholas, who has recently moved out of home. He hasn’t lived up to what they want for him, but he is still living an independent life. We read about different periods of time-Catherine in 2013 who is loved and respected but who finds a book on her bedside where she appears to be the main character. The story is about an incident which happened years ago. Catherine is now terrified as she thought she had concealed what had happened to her in the past. As well as Catherine’s perspective, we hear from Stephen Brigstocke, who is a retired teacher and appears to want to destroy Catherine’s life for what happened in the past.

I don’t want to say too much about the plot because it would ruin it. That’s why it’s always so tricky to review a psychological thriller. No-one wants to be disappointed by a spoiler! There are characters who you’ll hate in this book, but boy, I loved to hate them.

I really didn’t know who to trust in this story. There are so many twists, turns and curveballs in the way. I was intrigued to see who was going to be telling the truth and what Renee Knight might throw into the plot next. There were some points of the book that really turned my stomach. It certainly is a wonderful psychological thriller because you really don’t know what’s going to happen next.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A wonderful psychological thriller- well worth reading!

6 thoughts on “Disclaimer

  1. I remember seeing this one a bit ago and being really intrigued by that premise! Thanks for reminding me about it ha ha I’ll have to look for this one.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

