A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- I love seeing progress!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

I thought the last week of this half term would be a little more quiet than last week… but no. This week my class were writing up their stories and also learning about chunking in Maths. Chunking is all about division. I was faced with my first challenge really. My class are very mathematical, so when it came to teaching them to ‘chunk’ I was surprised to find out that they struggled! I’m so not used to them struggling in Maths.

That said, it didn’t take long for most of them to catch on to the method. It was great to see rapid progress before my eyes. On the Monday, they were ALL confused, by Wednesday most of them had got it and were confident with the method. This is why my job is SO rewarding. It definitely made my week!

I now have a week off, which might sound amazing to most, but I have so much work to do. I am going to squeeze time in to read and blog of course! We all need a bit of down time!

One thought on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- I love seeing progress!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

