Ten Books I Liked Less Than I Thought

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, it’s all about books we loved or disliked more than we thought. Now, for most of these books I did like them, just not as much as I had first thought I would. You may enjoy them! Each to their own they say…

For the Goodreads page, please click on the book image!

More Of Me- Kathryn Evans

More of Me

I wasn’t that impressed with this book unfortunately. I wanted to love it because the synopsis sounded incredible, but for me, it didn’t work.

Another Day- David Levithan

Another Day (Every Day, #2)

I LOVED Every Day but I don’t think this book was necessary. I felt a little let down by it.

What We Left Behind- Robin Talley

What We Left Behind

I loved Robin’s debut, so I was sad to be disappointed by this.

After You- Jojo Moyes

After You (Me Before You, #2)

It was always a gamble to read a sequel to one of my favourite books. This book didn’t work for me, unfortunately.

Ballet Shoes- Noel Streatfeild

Ballet Shoes (Shoes, #1)

I wanted to love this book! 😦

The Fault In Our Stars- John Green

The Fault in Our Stars

I know, I know. Most people love it. I liked it but wasn’t blown away.

The Coldest Girl In Coldtown- Holly Black

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

I thought I’d love this book, but it wasn’t quite what I thought it would be.

Me & Earl & The Dying Girl- Jesse Andrews

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl

This book was okay, but I thought it was going to be WOW!

Everything I Never Told You- Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You

I feel like so many people would love this book but it didn’t quite work for me.

Those Girls- Lauren Saft

Those Girls

I thought this would be a fun book but sadly it wasn’t. It really irritated me at points.

I’m really intrigued to see what you’ve posted this week, so feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

57 thoughts on “Ten Books I Liked Less Than I Thought

  1. I have The Fault in Our Stars on my list, too! I’m so glad I wasn’t the only who wasn’t crazy about this one. I felt weird about not liking it when everyone else is raving about it. I haven’t read After You for this precise reason, that I’m afraid it’s not going to live up to the original and I’ll be disappointed.

  2. After You was definitely a sequel that didn’t need to happen. And aww… this is the second time I’ve seen Everything I Never Told You! I just listened to it last week and really enjoyed it. lol Oh well.

  3. I completely agree with The Fault in Our Stars. I adore John Green (and I really don’t think he’s capable of writing a BAD book), but I didn’t love TFIOS as much as everyone else did. It was a good book, it made me cry, but it’s not my lasting favorite. My favorite of his books will always be Paper Towns.

  4. Although I haven’t read Me and Earl… I watched the movie with my boyfriend and I cried so hard at the end that he had to hold me for minutes until I could calm down. I have no idea why it had such an effect on me. Sometimes I cry during sad movies but not like this. I was lucky it was only the two of us in the room 🙂

    It’s so bad when a book disappoints but sometimes we can’t avoid having high expectations…

    Ronnie @ Paradise Found

  5. I liked “The Fault in Our Stars” and I think that’s because I was SO sure I’d detest it. A lot. It’s nowhere close to my favorite read, but I didn’t mind it. I Get not liking it though… it’s not, in my opinion, a “best of” book.

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi!

  6. Oooh sadness about More of Me, I have been looking forward to that one! And I have heard SUCH bad things about Those Girls, I think I would have thrown the book across the room if I had read it- I agree that it sounded good, but after reading some reviews… nope!

  7. It seems that a lot of times it’s the sequels that don’t live up! I find that contemporary sequels are hard to get right, especially when the first book is mega popular. I haven’t read any of these, but it’s the hype that turns me off a book many times…

  8. Those Girls made me so mad. I kind of hated everything about it. Even though I loved Me Before You, I haven’t read After You because of the mixed reviews. I just loved the first one so much and I don’t know if I could handle a let down with the next one. And did you know the author just announced there would be yet another sequel? I think the author just needs to let it go and move on to another book with other characters.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

