London Belongs To Us

London Belongs to Us

How did I get it?:
I borrowed it from Beth!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
Adorkable
It Felt Like A Kiss

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Sunny’s always been a little bit of a pushover. But when she’s sent a picture of her boyfriend kissing another girl, she knows she’s got to act. What follows is a mad, twelve-hour dash around London – starting at 8pm in Crystal Palace (so far away from civilisation you can’t even get the Tube there) then sweeping through Camden, Shoreditch, Soho, Kensington, Notting Hill . . . and ending up at 8am in Alexandra Palace.

Along the way Sunny meets a whole host of characters she never dreamed she’d have anything in common with – least of all the devilishly handsome (and somewhat vain) French ‘twins’ (they’re really cousins) Jean Luc and Vic. But as this love-letter to London shows, a city is only a sum of its parts, and really it’s the people living there who make up its life and soul. And, as Sunny discovers, everyone – from friends, apparent-enemies, famous bands and even rickshaw drivers – is willing to help a girl on a mission to get her romantic retribution.

Thoughts:

I have read two books from Sarra Manning before that I thoroughly enjoyed so I was excited to start London Belongs To Us, I thought it was going to be a cute contemporary YA but it’s more of a fun, fast-paced love letter to London. Don’t get me wrong, if you love contemporary YA then this book will certainly entertain you, but it’s not just about the romance, that’s for sure.

It centres around Sunny who goes on an all-night journey around London. When at a picnic with her friends, she is sent a photograph of her boyfriend with another girl. Sunny goes searching for the truth. She travels around London with two French cousins learning lots about herself along the way.

I think this book is a perfect read if you love London. Each chapter begins with some history of London which is a really interesting introduction to the places that Sunny visits. I am well aware with all of the places that Sunny visits and it’s lovely to read something so familiar.

Sarra Manning is fantastic at creating funny dialogue and I loved the conversations throughout the story. I also appreciated how much Sunny grew as a character. She was quite a pushover in the beginning and I like the way she grows and realises her self-worth. I loved her friendship with Emmeline.

Another plus point for this book is the fact that it has diverse characters. Sunny’s father is black and her mother is white and there’s a point in the book which discusses the differing messages that Sunny gets from her parents about the colour of her skin. Emmeline, Sunny’s friend is gay too but it’s never really shoved in our face. She just is and it’s not made a massive point of the story.

I enjoyed this book and whilst it’s not my favourite read in the genre, it was certainly enjoyable and it’s a decent read if you’re looking for something light, fun and adventurous.

Would I recommend it?:
Yes!

A fun journey around London in one night! Some great moments within- definitely worth it if you’re a fan of London!

17 thoughts on “London Belongs To Us

  1. Great review! I love reading books set in the UK. I don’t know why, it’s just sometimes refreshing to read something from my home country when I read so many American books haha. I can’t wait to give this a read

  2. Yeah I agree, it’s not my favourite Sarra Manning book but it’s still a light hearted, entertaining read. I liked that Manning managed to make it believable that Sunny grows so much over the course of just one night!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

