My Lady Jane

My Lady Jane: The Not Entirely True Story

How did I get it?:
I received it from Walker Books in exchange for an honest review. This hasn’t affected my opinion!

Synopsis:

A comical, fantastical and witty re-imagining of the Tudor world, perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger – and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

Thoughts:

I am quite the fan of Cynthia Hand and Brodi Ashton. I’d never read anything by Jodi Meadows but had heard great things about her writing. I’m also a massive fan of the Tudor era. I had heard so much hype around this book and was desperate to read it for myself. If you fancy a funny, completely silly, re-imagining of the Tudor world then this book is definitely for you.

It centres around Lady Jane Grey, who in this reimagining, is a bookworm (I knew I loved her!) She’s about to be married to a complete stranger. Lady Jane Grey finds herself in the middle of a plot to rob her cousin King Edward of the throne. Unbeknown to Jane, she’s about to become Queen of England…

The plot is completely ridiculous. Like really ridiculous. Yet I absolutely loved it. The authors work so well together and bring some real laugh out loud moments within the story. I think it has to be one of the most unique books that I’ve read in a while. There really isn’t another Tudor book like this. It’s one of a kind! Also, there’s magic. Magic I tell you. It’s so much fun to have this take on the Tudor period even if it is completely unrealistic. Who cares? It’s fun!

I love how we saw from three points of view. I can’t really pinpoint a favourite point of view because each one had some fantastic stories to tell and some very cute romances along the way.

If you’re looking for a historically accurate portrayal of Lady Jane Grey then this book is not for you. If you’re looking for history mashed in with magic and humour then pick up a copy!

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

This book was fun. Exactly what I needed to pick me up!

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “My Lady Jane

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s