A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Progress is a wonderful thing!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week feels like it’s been very successful. It was full of Design and Technology, which isn’t my favourite thing, however the children got on well with their sewing and cooking activities. I think the fact they didn’t have to write as much (usually, they have to write every single day) helped their independent writing on Friday. Perhaps it was just the stimulus I used for writing, but either way I’ve seen some progress in my children’s writing and that makes me happy! 🙂 My class aren’t the best at writing, so to look at their independent piece this week and see improvement really impressed me. I’ll be sure to let them know how proud I was. Everyone likes to hear that!

I have another busy week coming up with many production rehearsals for our upcoming play. Yet another thing that they impress me with! I can’t believe we’re already going to be 4 weeks into our 6 week term! This term has flown by and I can’t believe it’ll soon be time for the summer term. I’m hoping that this is where I’m going to see the most progress. I can but hope!

In my personal life, I feel like I’ve had a much better balance this week. This weekend, I’ve spent more time with friends or reading than working which really helps my own well-being. I’m feeling more rested without the whole of Saturday being spent working! Let’s see if I can keep that up!

4 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Progress is a wonderful thing!

  1. Nice post. What age is key stage 2? I think most people wrongly assume they know what it is like to be a teacher because everyone has been to school but it is nice to know a bit more about it for real. The only people I know outside of medicine are teachers!

  2. I’m in my second year of teaching. Currently teaching year 5. I also love the way that the children love impress you with what they are able to do. I thought last year was quick but this year seems even quicker! There is never enough time to get things done.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

