All The Forever Things

All the Forever Things

How did I get it?:
NetGalley- thanks to Albert Whitman & Company

Previously reviewed by the same author:

Synopsis:

“How many times have you saved me?” I ask Bree.

She grins. “Don’t you mean how many times have we saved each other?”

Nothing is forever. Gabe knows that more than most girls. After all, she lives in a funeral home (it’s the family business), and she gets that everything in the world dies eventually – people, rumors, fashion trends, the nickname “Graveyard Gabe.” But her best friend, Bree, has been a constant in her life; it’s always been the two of them together. Until Bree starts seeing a guy who stands for everything Gabe thought they were against. How could Bree change her mind and go for someone like Bryce Johnson?

Now Gabe doesn’t know who her friend is anymore. And the only person who seems to have time for her is Hartman, the new guy, who is somehow not weirded out by the funeral home stuff (well, a little). Still, Gabe doesn’t want to lose her mind over a guy the way Bree has, so she holds back.

But a very strange prom night (driving the family hearse instead of a limo) will change what Gabe knows about friendship, love, life, and everything that comes after – forever and otherwise.

Thought:

I have been a fan of Jolene Perry’s writing since I read The Summer I Found You, I recommend her books whenever I can. When I noticed that she had a new book coming out, I was very excited. I love reading her books because they’re often deeper than you might expect. This book is no exception! I wouldn’t say that this is my favourite book by Jolene, but it’s still a decent read which is well worth checking out!

All The Forever Things centres around Gabriella (Gabe) who lives in a funeral home as it’s the business her family are in. Gabe is a little strange, choosing to dress like Wednesday Addams after being teased about her life. Gabe thought she was happy enough alongside her good friend Bree. However, when Bree starts changing who she is when dating Gabe’s worst enemy, Gabe feels like she’s losing her best friend. Hartman, a new guy at school, comes into her life and isn’t weirded out by the funeral home business. Gabe holds back, not wanting to become one of those girls who changes herself. Gabe’s battle to keep her friend Bree takes a turn for the worse, when she drives Bree, her boyfriend and their group to prom…in a hearse…

I really liked the story line which I felt was quite unique. Gabe was certainly an interesting character. I have the feeling that you’re either going to love or hate her. She’s not the most likeable and can come across quite selfish and unaware of other’s problems. Bree is an interesting character too, I liked that she didn’t have it easy. Hartman was a good character, although I wish we had heard more from him. Hartman had a tragic past, and I feel that wasn’t as in depth as it could have been. I got past not liking some of the characters straight away, because I think that they all grew during the course of the story.

All The Forever Things is a decent YA contemporary read. It may not be my favourite book by Jolene Perry, but I think it’s worth picking up, especially if you’re a fan of the genre!

Would I recommend it?:
Yes- 3.5 stars

A unique YA read!

2 thoughts on “All The Forever Things

  1. I recently did an arc review of this over on my blog if you want to check it out😊 I wasn’t sure I was going to like it but I ended up loving it! I agree with Gabe being a love/hate character

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

