Fairy Tale Friday- The Snowman

The Snowman is another Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale that I hadn’t come across before. It was another incredibly quirky tale which I’m coming to expect from Hans Christian Andersen.

It centres around a snowman in the yard who it talking to a dog about human life. The snowman is obsessed with talking about the stove inside. Over time, the snowman melts and the dog notices a poker inside him that is making the snowman stay upright. The dog realises that’s why the snowman was so interested in the stove!

Next Fairy Tale- The Wild Swans

4 thoughts on “Fairy Tale Friday- The Snowman

  1. I haven’t read the original Hans Christian Andersen tales in so long. I would love to reread them now. I agree with you– they always have some extra layer to them that makes them even more interesting. I have read some interesting HCA retellings lately, but I like the idea of going back to the originals. 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

