Top Ten Things That Will Instantly Make Me Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list are the Top Ten things that make us want to read a book!

  1. Dance- anything dance related on the cover or mentioned then it’s immediately on my TBR.
  2. Light, pastel colours always draw my eye.
  3. A promise of it being a psychological thriller.
  4. Pretty page edges. Hey, I’m shallow!
  5. Mental health- if a book is about mental health I’m instantly intrigued.
  6. Strong female lead.
  7. Tudor England.
  8. The author- some I just buy without a second thought.
  9. First person narrative.
  10. World War II

What are some things that make you pick up a book? Let me know! Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Things That Will Instantly Make Me Read A Book

  1. Ooh I like psychological thrillers! Mental health topics sometimes get me, and favorite authors- yeah. I like a good first person narrative too!

  2. Ooh, WWII is another good one. I forgot that on my list. And pretty page edges! I also like books about mental health, but I’m always wary that the author will treat the topic insensitively. It’s great when you find a book about mental health that really gets it right.

    • Yes, there has to be a good balance for me to enjoy the book about mental health. The promise of it being about mental health does intrigue me though and often will make me read the book, even if it ends up annoying me!

  3. I buy MANY books by authors that I consider “auto buys.” Pretty covers are another BIG incentive. My book-loving heart just can’t seem to “help” but be drawn to a pretty cover. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, as always, for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi.

  4. I have auto buy authors as well and there have been books that I have bought without even reading the blurb purely because it’s an author I adore!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

