Small Great Things

Small Great Things

How did I get it?:
It was a gift!

Previously reviewed by the same author:
My Sister’s Keeper
The Storyteller

Synopsis:

When a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father.

What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.

Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us.

It is about opening your eyes.

Thoughts:

I have read so many books by Jodi Picoult now, and whilst I do enjoy her writing, it was getting a little same-y for me. Therefore, it was with some trepidation that I picked up Small Great Things. I had heard good things about it across the blogosphere, but that happened with some of her books that I didn’t get along with too. I always try and give an author another chance, especially if I’ve liked their previous books at some point. I’m pleased I read Small Great Things because it was a fantastic, gripping read.

Small Great Things centres around the death of a baby named Davis. He was only a few days old when he became unwell on a maternity ward. Ruth Jefferson was his nurse, until the baby’s father, Turk, stated that no African-American nurses should look after his child. Ruth is understandably hurt. When Davis stops breathing, Ruth is unsure what to do, does she touch the baby and try to help him or does she leave him and follow orders? Ruth finds herself blamed for the tragic death and the hospital does nothing to protect her.

As with many Jodi Picoult books, the story is told through different characters. I always find this really interesting, but find myself favouring one or two characters instead of others and this was certainly the case for this book. I loved reading from Ruth’s point of view in particular. I immediately felt for her.

I am always impressed with how thorough Jodi Picoult is with her subject matter. She clearly researches well and puts thought into her books even if the formula is often incredibly similar. This particular book kept me thinking about racism and feeling unjust. Jodi really is a fantastic writer and this book is one of her best in recent years, in my opinion.

Would I recommend it?:
Of course!

A surprise for me! I really enjoyed this book. A controversial, but interesting read.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

