A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Prioritising

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

This week I’m writing this post on the second weekend in a row where I haven’t brought school work home! What is this thing called a work-life balance? I didn’t think I would be able to ever do this, when I started teaching last year. Don’t get me wrong, there are things that I definitely should be doing right now, but I have prioritised… my books can be marked on Monday morning- they don’t need to be marked this weekend. Go me!

Having a work free weekend, means I can spend time doing things I actually want to do! I have been able to read instead of spending hours working on school stuff. My sister has also been visiting this weekend and it’s nice to spend time with her instead of being stuck to my laptop all day.

I’m not saying that this won’t continue, but right now I’m a very content teacher. I know I have stuff to do, but I’m not pushing or forcing myself to work. It’s about looking at what desperately needs to be done, should be done and could be done! Luckily for me this weekend, I have nothing too pressing! Here’s to more of the same!

2 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- Prioritising

  1. Good for you! Teaching is definitely an all consuming profession. Especially with digital technology. I teach secondary students who are prone to not using class time wisely then emailing queries and assignments for feedback all weekend! I also had a work free weekend and the sky didn’t fall down so am also aiming to do so more.

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

