Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is all about things on our reading wishlists. These are things we’d love to read more about in stories.

  1. Anxiety- represented in an accurate and thoughtful way
  2. Diverse chick-lit- life is too fluffy for my liking in chick-lit. I’d love to see some more diverse characters.
  3. Diverse middle-grade- why shouldn’t this genre have more diverse characters?
  4. More books with characters on the autistic spectrum.
  5. Girl problems- I can’t think of a book where girls have normal ‘girly’ problems. Let’s be real!
  6. Present, caring parents- not too much to ask, surely?
  7. Less insta-love- let’s have some realistic romances!
  8. Sisterhood- Ha! Girls supporting others not bringing them down.
  9. More music mentions- whether it’s throwbacks to other eras or current music I’d be happy!
  10. Books without romance. It’s not always needed!

What would you like to read more of? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

 

48 thoughts on “Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

  1. Anxiety and parents being around- definitely! And yeah there doesn’t ALWAYS have to be romance (or instalove lol)- books with just friendships are fine too!

  2. Yes, I totally agree with everything on your list.

    Anxiety is a big one, though. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that talked about it. It’s such an important thing to discuss, too. So many people struggle with it.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

  3. Did you read By Your Side by Kasie West? the main character has anxiety . It was good and there was not insta-love .
    Did you read Heavenly by Jennifer Laurence? The main character’s little sister has autism. This book is about angels and Matthias ( the angel) is the little sister’s guardian angel. There are a lot of real life problems in this story. I think the author based the books on her life. Her daughter has autism. I loved the books, it is not all about the autism but it is there.
    My TTT.

    • Thanks Mariela. I have it on my TBR, so I’m glad to know there’s anxiety being represented. I haven’t read Heavenly, so I shall add that to my TBR list as well!

  4. Hi! Music and sisterhood for sure! And you’ve reminded me I need to read more middle grade! I’d forgotten I wanted to do that. haha.
    Sorry, I can’t resist this…I have a music-themed YA releasing in July 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

  5. I love your list! I have anxiety and I would like to have more books where it is presented in a realistic way. I would also love more girl power novels and less catty-ness, why can’t they just empower each other? I’m actually okay with insta love when it is well down but otherwise it won’t work for me.

    Tina @ As Told By Tina

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

