Top Ten Best Mothers In Literature

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Mother’s Day freebie. I decided to go with some of the best mother’s in literature…so here goes!

Marmee- Mrs March- Little Women- How can you not love her? She cares for her four girls so much and is just a wonderful human being ❤

Molly Weasley- Harry Potter– Adorable woman! I love her feisty spirit and devotion to her family.

Lily Potter- Harry Potter– We don’t read nearly enough about her, but from what we do see, we know that she and James loved Harry immensely.

Rosa Hubermann- The Book Thief– A fierce lady but definitely kind at heart.

Mother- The Railway Children- She cares for her children despite the madness going on with her husband.

Natalie Prior- Divergent– Another woman I adore. She tries to protect her children no matter what.

Rosaleen- The Secret Life of Bees– Rosaleen may not be Lily’s mother, in fact, she’s her maid, but she cares for Lily as if she was her own child.

Ma- Room– Ma does everything she can to protect Jack. She devises a plan for them to escape as she wants the best for Jack!

Marilla- Anne of Green Gables– She may not be mother to Anne by birth, but she’s a wonderful adopted mother despite a rocky start.

Romy’s mum- All The Rage– Romy’s mum and boyfriend are supportive throughout the story. I love reading about carers who are actually there for their children.

What did you pick for your Mother’s Day freebie this week? It may not be Mother’s Day in the U.K. but it’s never the wrong time to celebrate mothers!

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Mothers In Literature

  1. Marilla and Marmee, both incredible women devoted to their children – whether by birth or not.

    Love that you added Mrs. Prior, too. I *almost* added her, but I think I sort of forgot in my quest to put this week’s post together. Oops!

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland, Chrissi.

  2. Yay for celebrating mothers! Marmee is one that deserves a top spot in such a list…. I can’t believe I didn’t include her in mine!

    Here’s my TTT of memorable moms, some noticeable for not-so-good reasons. http://wp.me/p2Lvor-2qf

  3. Nice list! I didn’t do my own list, but I’d definitely put Molly, Lily, Rosa, and Natalie on mine. And if I did have a list, I’d probably include Catelyn Stark from George R.R. Martin’s Song of Fire & Ice series (another woman who wants nothing more than to protect her children and see them succeed) and Nassun from N.K. Jemisin’s Broken Earth Trilogy (her main motivation in the series is rescuing her daughter, who was abducted by her father and Nassun’s husband).

  4. So many good picks! Ma goes through so much to get them both out. The fact that she loves her son throughout all the pain that’s been caused is beautiful.

    Also, I don’t think anyone could not love Molly Weasley. Although I doubt anyone would want to get a howler from her!

  5. Rosa Hubermann, I completely forgot about her. But she was such an amazing person!! She and her husband sacrificed so much and were such a good example to Liesl.

  6. Hi! Haha I just went from one post with the worst YA moms to this one with the best. I love this about TTT! I agree about Little Women. When I considered this topic for this week, she was the first mom I thought of. 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

  7. Molly Weasley has gotten so much love! But yes to Tris’ mother. She would give her life for her child. It doesn’t get any more devoted than that.

    Here is my TTT. Thanks!

  8. YES TO ALL OF THESE! Molly Weasley is the ultimate fictional mother – she cares so deeply for her children and she adopts Harry as her own. I doubt that a list of fictional mothers could be complete without her. And yes to Lily Potter and Natalie Prior as well – they’re both so selfless and sacrificial. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

