A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- I’m on the move again!

Every Sunday (hopefully) I shall be posting a personal post about my life as a primary school teacher. I currently work at a primary school teaching Lower Key Stage 2. My training posts on this subject were really successful and so therapeutic for me, therefore I’ve decided to continue posting on the topic. I will not be naming any children, or the school where I work. If personal posts aren’t your thing then feel free to skip these posts. I won’t mind! Bookish goodness returns as normal Monday-Saturday!

I returned to school this week after a week long break. It’s coming up to that time of year, that most people think teachers will enjoy. However, a lot of teachers don’t! For me, it’s full of packing in parts of the curriculum that you haven’t covered yet, it’s full of assessment, the children are getting rattier with each other having spent nearly a year together. They’re ready to go up a year and think they’ve outgrown their class! Ha. That said, the children have been delightful this week. They’ve worked exceptionally hard and I’m pleased with them. I wonder if they can keep it up?

It feels like I’ve been back for ages as I’ve had so much going on this week. I’ve been formally observed (every teacher is twice a year) and I’ve went to another school for writing moderation. My lesson observation went really well which I wasn’t expecting at all. It’s given me a confidence boost.

I have been told that I will be moving down a year group next year. Back to Year 2. At first, I had my reservations. I really enjoy junior teaching. I’m trying to see the positives though. I’ll be returning to my first ever classroom with what looks like a great bunch of children. Having completed a year in Year 2 before, I know exactly what the expectations are. I feel like I can hit the ground running! I’ve also been told that it’s not forever and I could return to juniors at some point. I guess I’m in the unique position of being able to teach Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 and enjoy both of the age groups. I should be happy with that! So many people have a preferred age range, but mine is Year 2-3 so it does cross the Key Stage boundaries. We’ll see how it goes. I’ll be meeting my next class (my third class!) in 4 weeks!

3 thoughts on “A Week In The Life Of A Primary School Teacher- I’m on the move again!

  1. I’m also a teacher so I loved reading this post! Slightly different as I’m a secondary school teacher but I completely agree that this isn’t a time of year that winds down just yet! It’s still full flow for exam season and assessments with us too. Well done on your observation! 🙂

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

