Ten Memorable Dads In Literature

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a Father’s Day freebie. I decided to go with some of the most memorable father’s in literature…so here goes!

  • Mr WormwoodMatilda– Roald Dahl- He’s an awful father. He doesn’t care about his wonderfully intelligent daughter!
  • Lucius MalfoyHarry Potter– J.K. Rowling- He encourages Draco to be unkind to others. He makes Draco think he’s far superior. I don’t like that!
  • George Mole- Adrian Mole– Sue Townsend- George is hardly a role model to Adrian!
  • Old Nick- Room– Emma Donoghue- Thinking of the character just makes my blood boil.

Now some memorable in a good way fathers! 

  • Otto Frank- The Diary of Anne Frank– Anne Frank- Without Otto, we wouldn’t have Anne’s diary.
  • Hans HubermannThe Book Thief– Markus Zusak- I featured Rosa in my mother list, so I couldn’t help but mention Hans too. He’s a super sweet father.
  • Atticus FinchTo Kill A Mockingbird– Harper Lee- I couldn’t put together a list about fathers and not include Atticus. He’s super special. Kind, caring, respectful and he truly loves his children.
  • Bob CratchitA Christmas Carol- Charles Dickens- He just wanted to do well by his family!
  • Arthur WeasleyHarry Potter- J.K. Rowling- Loved his wife, mentioned his wife in my mothers list, so of course had to include him. A set of wonderful (present) parents!
  • Carson DrewNancy Drew- Carolyn Keene- I loved reading about Nancy’s father when I was younger. I remember always thinking he sounded amazing!

What did you do for your list this week? Feel free to leave a link to your post and I’ll stop by!

57 thoughts on “Ten Memorable Dads In Literature

  1. I’m seeing Atticus Finch on lots of lists today, and Carson Drew made my list. I’ve not “met” him in any of the timeless novels, but do love his character in the films I’ve seen, so I went with it. 🙂

  2. Wow we had 4 in common overall, so great list. I think Lucius Malfoy did love his son though, but he did have an annoying superiority complex, and was a pretty horrid person.

  3. Hans Hubermann! What a guy. As a father he was just perfect. His devotion to his family was so sweet especially in how he welcomes Liesel with open arms.

  4. What a great list! Atticus Finch, Arthur Weasley, and Lucius Malfoy made my top ten list too! I love Carson Drew; those are wonderful books and were favorites when I was growing up 😊

  5. Hi! Nancy Drew’s dad!!!! I totally forgot about him. Such a great choice. I also just watched Matilda for the first time recently…Mr. Wormwood is awful! Otto Frank is another great great choice 🙂
    My TTT
    Leslie

  6. Yes, I completely agree with all of these! 🙂 Arthur Weasley, Otto Frank, and Atticus Finch are all such great fathers. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

  7. Bob Cratchit is such a good catch! There are even good father’s in classical lit! I think Atticus Finch is the winner of most mentioned good dad as he should be. It’s nice to have a dad that is good to look up to!

Comments make me smile and I love to reply to them! Thanks for visiting today!

